We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced . . certainly not 4 star!”
Review of Rothay Garth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rothay Garth
Ranked #41 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over-priced . . certainly not 4 star!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked this accommodation direct with the owners and asked for a two night stay over the bank holiday weekend. A standard en-suite double room, for two nights, bed and breakfast was to cost us £170. This seemed a bit pricey but we were, after all, promised 4 star accommodation . . no such luck!

The room was very dated and in need of a 'facelift'. The en-suite was, in fact, a small cupboard. The pillows and duvet were limp, the bed uncomfortable and the carpet needed vacuuming. Nothing 4 star about it!

The breakfast was OK (but beware microwaved plates . . far too hot!)

The final blow was the confusing selection of tariffs (in the welcome folder/brochure) which we couldn't fathom at all . . but it did seem clear that we could have had 3 nights, over a bank holiday weekend, for £170 (this was what we had paid for two nights)

When we checked out I mentioned this to the owner. Surely this should have been offered to us, as an option, when we booked on the phone? Sadly it wasn't and we were effectively overcharged for our stay! The owner just shrugged and suggested we stay another night if we wanted! No thanks . . we would have preferred value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25AMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Owner at Rothay Garth, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for your stay with us and subsequent review, we are sorry you feel you had a disappointing stay.
In regard to your comments on the price you paid for your stay we would like to say you have definitely not been overcharged and I think you may have read our tariff incorrectly.
Our bank holiday tariff for a standard double is £170.00 PER PERSON making a total of £340.00 for a 3 night break and not £170.00 in total as you have stated. We do normally take a minimum of 3 night over a bank holiday, but we had a late availability 2 night gap on the standard rooms you were in. On booking you inquired about a 2 night break not a 3 night break and thus we sold you the standard room 4 day prior to arrival.
You actually paid £170.00 total or £85.00 per person which an extremely low price for a 2 night break over a bank holiday in the Lakes. In order to fill the room we gave you a great deal that was not expensive or overpriced.
With regard to our décor we do favour a more traditional style in keeping with the building which we can appreciate is not to every ones taste. We take on board your comments about the pillows and duvet and will check to see if they require replacing. Our breakfast plates, which are warmed in a special draw not microwaved, do get hot. We will look into trying to get the heat down to a more suitable temperature.
We are a friendly family run business and there is always someone about so any issues such as bedding and cleanliness guests are unhappy with can be easily rectified if we know about them at the time, which could have helped make your stay with us a more positive one.
We always welcome feedback and will look into some of the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    58
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
30
134
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rothay Garth. We stayed in a luxury room on a winter special offer and enjoyed every minute of our stay there. We previously visited Rothay Garth in December last year and booked to return while we were there. The location is great for all amenities in Ambleside and the car park is a great advantage. It is a family run B & B and has a very friendly atmosphere and they are all very helpful with anything you ask. Breakfast on all 3 mornings was delicious. We will definitely return in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Three friends and myself spent three nights at Rothay Garth, we had a great weekend, the staff were very friendly breakfast was prepared quickly and there was a full choice of food. Nice confortable rooms. Would definitely return for another weekend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukenov10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for one night, good location and comfortable rooms. It's not luxury, quite dated decor , ( bathrooms were nice) few digital TV channels , but we slept well, very quiet , nice breakfast, nice family.

Room Tip: We had 4 poster room, very clean good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezzybabe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

For the second year running we had clear blue sky, and an excellent 3 night package. Excellent value for money inc no surcharge for dogs, perfect position for walking into Ambleside without a car, fantastic hosts with a scrumptious breakfast. Mum and daughters never can do enough for you and always on hand to chat and give tips on where to go and where to eat. Unicorn Pub a must with good value and plenty choice and MOST important for us dog friendly, as we have 3 golden retrievers with us. Also well worth a visit at Bowness the Royal Oak, amazing food, dog friendly and fantastic friendly atmosphere. Cannot believe you can find a better dog friendly B and B anywhere. Thanks very much. We will be back soon.
Judi Derek and 3 Goldies.

Room Tip: 3 dog friendly rooms 16/17 and 18. 16 and 17 have best views over park and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My mum, daughter and I have just returned from a brief stay at rothay garth and had a lovely stay and would recommend it to anyone. We were initially looking for a b&b that would accept both my mums dogs and my 10 year old daughter (harder than it sounds!)

I made an enquiry and very quickly one member of the family who runs the b&b had emailed back with info and details of the room so I could see on the web site and check they were suitable

The rooms were spacious and very comfy. Decor is every so slightly dated but spotlessly clean. The house is a little closer to the road than the pictures suggest but it's no biggy. My mum had one of the ground floor rooms and was not disturbed at all

The location is excellent. Walking distance to the town and even as full as the house seemed there was space in the car park

The family was lovely (never met dad) but had a warm welcome from one sister and met the other and mum at breakfast. All offered friendly conversation and any help they could render for anything

Breakfast was great, especially after I put the pressure with my eggs and it was clear from chats with other guests how many had stayed before and had returned for a second and third time. It was also a thoughtful touch they had realised we were all together and had arranged one table for both our rooms so we could sit together.

Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browneyedsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Rothay Garth for 3 nights in February. The room was comfortable and warm and had everything we needed. We had one of the dog friendly rooms which suited us perfectly. The location is great and although by quite a busy road we did not notice excess noise - especially at night when it was very peaceful. The location is perfect for Ambleside. The breakfasts were very good and the family who run the B&B are very warm and friendly. Our dog was also made to feel very welcome!

Room Tip: 3 dog friendly rooms on the ground floor very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#33 of 103 in Ambleside
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garth

Property: Rothay Garth
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Garth offers you a blend of understated elegance and warm friendly family service. Set in beautiful gardens within Ambleside, we benefit from a large private on-site car park and superb mountain views. Enjoy our Lakeland breakfast in the Loughrigg breakfast room before heading out, and after a day's exploring relax and unwind with a glass of wine from the bar service in the comfort of our residents lounge - we look forward to hearing from you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rothay Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garth Hotel Ambleside
Rothay Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing