We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rothay Garth
Nearby Hotels
Lakes Lodge(Ambleside)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Ambleside)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wateredge Inn(Ambleside)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
142
64
11
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
64
11
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkample storagethis family run hotellarge loungelake districtwarm welcomespent three nightsthe ground floorpacked lunchthe bank holiday weekendcomfortable roomsplenty of choiceoff road parkingfour poster bedreal bonusspa batha lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Brathay Lodge , room 12 , great king size bed , and a very nice breakfast, highly recommended . The location is first class , with ample car space , easy reach of the village shops and eating houses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful few days in the lake district at Rothay Garth. We had room 18 which had a small lounge, great bathroom and a bedroom with a double and a single bed. We had our own entrance and also a back entrance on to the garden which was great has we had our dog Pippa with us. Dad was on a 1st floor room which had wonderful views of the garden and the church. The breakfast was always hot and very enjoyable. The family were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble and they always had time to have a chat. We had a take away one night and if you told them they would set up a table for you so you could eat in the dining area. This was so nice that it puts this hotel at the top. Our dad is 88 and they were very helpful with his needs. It had good parking and was only a short walk to the town centre which with Dad was important. We would recommend a stay with at the Rothay Garth next time you visit the lake district. We are planning our next visit to the lake district and this is definitely were we would like stop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1957Sheila57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked this accommodation direct with the owners and asked for a two night stay over the bank holiday weekend. A standard en-suite double room, for two nights, bed and breakfast was to cost us £170. This seemed a bit pricey but we were, after all, promised 4 star accommodation . . no such luck!

The room was very dated and in need of a 'facelift'. The en-suite was, in fact, a small cupboard. The pillows and duvet were limp, the bed uncomfortable and the carpet needed vacuuming. Nothing 4 star about it!

The breakfast was OK (but beware microwaved plates . . far too hot!)

The final blow was the confusing selection of tariffs (in the welcome folder/brochure) which we couldn't fathom at all . . but it did seem clear that we could have had 3 nights, over a bank holiday weekend, for £170 (this was what we had paid for two nights)

When we checked out I mentioned this to the owner. Surely this should have been offered to us, as an option, when we booked on the phone? Sadly it wasn't and we were effectively overcharged for our stay! The owner just shrugged and suggested we stay another night if we wanted! No thanks . . we would have preferred value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25AMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna D, Owner at Rothay Garth, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Many thanks for your stay with us and subsequent review, we are sorry you feel you had a disappointing stay.
In regard to your comments on the price you paid for your stay we would like to say you have definitely not been overcharged and I think you may have read our tariff incorrectly.
Our bank holiday tariff for a standard double is £170.00 PER PERSON making a total of £340.00 for a 3 night break and not £170.00 in total as you have stated. We do normally take a minimum of 3 night over a bank holiday, but we had a late availability 2 night gap on the standard rooms you were in. On booking you inquired about a 2 night break not a 3 night break and thus we sold you the standard room 4 day prior to arrival.
You actually paid £170.00 total or £85.00 per person which an extremely low price for a 2 night break over a bank holiday in the Lakes. In order to fill the room we gave you a great deal that was not expensive or overpriced.
With regard to our décor we do favour a more traditional style in keeping with the building which we can appreciate is not to every ones taste. We take on board your comments about the pillows and duvet and will check to see if they require replacing. Our breakfast plates, which are warmed in a special draw not microwaved, do get hot. We will look into trying to get the heat down to a more suitable temperature.
We are a friendly family run business and there is always someone about so any issues such as bedding and cleanliness guests are unhappy with can be easily rectified if we know about them at the time, which could have helped make your stay with us a more positive one.
We always welcome feedback and will look into some of the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rothay Garth. We stayed in a luxury room on a winter special offer and enjoyed every minute of our stay there. We previously visited Rothay Garth in December last year and booked to return while we were there. The location is great for all amenities in Ambleside and the car park is a great advantage. It is a family run B & B and has a very friendly atmosphere and they are all very helpful with anything you ask. Breakfast on all 3 mornings was delicious. We will definitely return in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Three friends and myself spent three nights at Rothay Garth, we had a great weekend, the staff were very friendly breakfast was prepared quickly and there was a full choice of food. Nice confortable rooms. Would definitely return for another weekend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lukenov10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews