We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst chinese I have ever had, plus £4 charge for delivery”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of China Cottage

China Cottage
Ranked #71 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Licensed Chinese restaurant and take away open from 5 to 11 p.m 7 days a week. Happy hour 5 till 6.30 except Saturdays. We offer a wide range of authentic freshly prepared Chinese dishes including a large vegetarian selection, dim sum and gluten free menus. All served with a smile in a cosy family friendly atmosphere. Coach parties welcome.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worst chinese I have ever had, plus £4 charge for delivery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Staying 2 miles outside ambleside, phoned an order through was advised if we spent £35, we could have free delivery. Spent £36, however driver advised there was a £4 delivery charge!!
Chips (ordered for kids) were black never seen chips as burnt as these. Prawn sweet and sour was soggy batter with viniger flavoured sauce, was appalling

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emlutay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    54
    18
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This restaurant is slightly off the main centre. however, it is within walking distance. We were pleasantly surprised.The service was excellent, food was tasty, overall good value for money. We will definitely visit during our next ambleside trip. This restaurant was much better in terms of service, food and value for money compared to the jintana Thai restaurant we visited the previous day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank werty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tiny Chinese in Ambleside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Little restaurant in a converted house
Found this almost by accident while trying to park for some shopping.
Friendly chinese, great food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephenH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tasty food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We visited China cottage on the off chance and despite them being busy we were given a table with a few minutes wait.

The food was tasty and freshly cooked and the service was good.

My chicken in black bean sauce was very scrummy with the chicken not the sauce forming the majority of the meal. My egg fried rice was both plentiful and well cooked.

My partners szechuan duck was tasty with plenty of meat and veg and a similar large portion of rice. Our meal price without drinks was £20.

It's a short walk to China cottage from the town centre past the Tescos express and its tucked next to the petrol station but well worth a visit

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerandfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lytham lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very nice meal early birds good value staff pleasant banana fritter lovely not to crowded up the hill Nr the garage

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pcusworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Cottage also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to China Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing