We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Very Good For Parties” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rufty Tuftys

Rufty Tuftys
Ranked #5 of 5 Fun & Games in Ambleside
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rufty Tuftys a large, indoor play centre, offering adventure, exercise, exploration and excitement for children in a clean, safe, stimulating environment right in the heart of the Lake District.We have free parking on our front and also we have an overflow carpark, again free just to the left of our building.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Very Good For Parties”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The soft play area was good but the party food was disappointing, Jam sandwiches and cheese savoury and none of the kids liked cheese savoury. not enough to feed all the children who were there, very expensive for what we got.

wouldn't advise it for a children's parties.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lesrodway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hi

We are really sorry you think you had a bad experience for your party, we have held over 1000 parties since we opened and this is the first problem we have had. We do supply food to the party people only and should parents wish to give food to siblings who attend, not paying to be at the party, we cannot control this. As I said on the phone to you this was the case. We provide sanwiches and party food to a strict document and we believe we did this for you. It did appear that you wanted some of your money back. Unfortunalely your wife and her friend were happy to pay on the way out, saying that they had had a good party. I have checked the cameras and this is the case.

Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    5
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to bring the kids! Fantastic soft play and an under 2's area. Lovely cafe that's even licensed to sell alcohol! Free wifi, too. A great way to kill a couple of hours when the weather is grim! Only down side is its shut a couple
of days days during the week. This can be frustrating when it's peeing down and you don't want to spend a small fortune on admission fees to the Aquarium and other indoor attractions!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve4photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hi thanks for you review. It's good of you to take time to write in. Just a slight correction though, we are open 7 days a week but on Monday and Tuesday we open at 11.30am. On all other days we open at 10.00am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb indoor play area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

this is the best indoor play area we have been to ever, mainly because mums and dads are looked after too. The kids are in a safe enviroment and have a huge area to play in. The parents can relax in the cafe and enjoy a cup of tea or even a reasonably priced lunch. The kids are well catered for with the menu too. I cannot thank this place enough as it has saved my sanity so many times! My son is now almost 6 and still loves it. It is within walking distance of Ambleside so dads can be left whilst mum pops out shopping! There is a huge car park just round the corner (no, its not free!). Wifi, newspapers, TV also included...free!
Thank You Rufty Tuftys. x

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ADmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Rufty Tuftys is nice, big, clean indoor play area. It has a large seating area for the adults which is comfortable, although it is hard to watch the children playing on the large play equipment from the majority of the seats. Well priced and has a decent menu too. Major downside is a lack of parking outside!! Parking places are very limited!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulcie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hi thanks for your post, i think you came when it had been snowing outside. We have now an overflow carpark next to us, i think we had problems with the snow on this occassion. We are also adjacent to a large public car park, maybe the staff didn't mention that. I will let them know. Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
237 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Good if its raining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hubby and I do split shifts here so the other person can go shopping and our son can enjoy himself.
Good soft play, reasonably priced, offers a good range of food and drinks and best of all FREE PARKING within walking distance of Ambleside.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rufty Tuftys also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Rufty Tuftys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing