We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Genuine treasure”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful and relaxing break - the setting is perfect for walking, there is no need to use the car to get to the start of some amazing trails with awesome scenery. The staff were friendly and very accommodating of our dog; the breakfasts, dinners and packed lunches great examples of home cooking (home made breads, jams, cakes, chips, pies etc) in substantial portions; rooms were clean, warm and comfy. The hikers bar next door is a great place for beer and meeting some of the local characters. The hotel has access to a nearby resort with swimming pool and spa if you can't live without these facilities. If you're into TVs, gift shops and trouser presses this place is not for you. But if you want a welcoming and comfortable hotel with fantastic hiking come here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromupnorthLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    76
    18
    18
    16
See reviews for
48
85
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aigina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This place has its own style: The setting under Harrison Stickle is nothing short of dramatic, and the isolation at the head of Langdale is majestic. The walkers bar is very basic, true... it has to be, because walkers, dogs, back-packs, ice-axes, sticks, big boots, muddy feet and a lot of rain come through the door. It is fashioned from an old shippon, and it is attractive, characterful and comfortable... lots of odd little corners and booths to get settled in.

There is always a great selection of ales, and I've always found the bar staff friendly and knowledgable about their stock. Yes, you do sometimes wait a few minutes when things are quiet; and yes, in summer it can get very busy; but good places in spectaclar settings will attract people.

I've always eaten from the 'specials' board when I've been in, and I've yet to have a bad meal. Their filled Yorkshire puddings are excellent, and they make very good curries... although I would like a poppadum occasionally!

Whether alone or in a group I've always felt welcome and enjoyed myself here. One day I'll go for a few days and try the hotel.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Capnblatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

A real Lake District icon in a superb location.
We walked to the ODG on the Cumbria Way path and it really is a pleasant place to arrive. The lounge the hallway and entrance really are examples of a Victorian era. Not faded but true the era.
Our room was very comfortable and looked like it had been refurbed in recent times. Bathroom/shoer was all good.
We had the evening meal on our first night and we were a little dissapointed. The food was dull and although the service was OK it was not very proffesional. The dining room was as quiet as a church with no atmosphere at all. Breakfast time was similar but there were a few more people about, whispering to each other.
The second night we went to the bar for a meal which was very average. The bar is a converted stable and they obviously want to keep it the same with out modernisation. It is a walkers bar and it serves the campsite close by but they could do something to make it a little more pleasant.
This an iconic location with loads of history but it could do with a bit of life breathed in to it. But if you are walking and want to stay in Langdale you have to experience the ODG at least once.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I visited in Sept , my fiancee and I were walking with our dogs. The outside of the pub looks tired and grubby. I went to the very basic bar and waited, noone appeared, there was a bell but it had been taped over with the word 'no' written on the tape. I called, no reply. Eventually a very surly young man appeared. There was no greeting , no apology for my wait just a 'yeah'. I gave my order and suggested a bell may be handy , to which he replied he had one but he had taped over it as he didn't like to be disturbed. He said he was on his own and only had one pair of hands. His attitude was disgusting.I shall never ever visit this dump again. The Sticklebarn down the road is lovely, infact anywhere but The ODG

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gardener009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

How do you find a place this spectacular! Rooms are good, clean, but the location is perfect!!
Excellent dinner and breakfast. Staff appears laid back, but very helpful and service was good!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My friend is a regular at the ODG and each time he bought a round of 2 drinks they charged him £4.80, but when I (as a stranger in the bar) bought the same round they charged me £5.35.

I am told that this is their usual practice ..................... one price if they know you and a higher price if they don't.

I do not know if it is the hotel policy or the bar staff making a bit on the side, but I do know it happens on a regular basis,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doreenthbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The important thing about the ODG is its location: everything else pales in to insignificance when you consider that for the sheer majesty of its surroundings very few hotels can ever hope to match. Some of the best hill walking available anywhere on the planet is available straight out of the door and this is surely the primary reason for anyone choosing this hotel. To the hotel itself: Its really absolutely fine. The beds are comfortable, the rooms warm, and the daily maid service replenished the biscuits and made the room as good as new each day. The bathrooms have clearly been updated recently and there was plenty of hot water. The food was good with large portions (watch out for the hot chile: It really is HOT!) and the breakfast is excellent. And the icing on the cake is superb beer to round off a very pleasant stay. If you are expecting luxury you won't get it, if you're expecting good comfort and value for money you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langmeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
10.0 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
412 reviews
2.5 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing