We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good old pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We always go this pub after a day on the hills, great place to go for a roaring fire, good ale, fellow walkers, never eaten there but the food looks good and wholesome.will always return to this pub.There is also a campground just over the bridge which is handy if you fancy roughing it around the langdales.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozzie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    74
    17
    15
    16
See reviews for
45
80
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Fabulous location...fabulous beers but poor bar meals.

I had the lamb henry which was around £12 and came with a minute portion of what like 60's frozen cubes of mxed veg....very poor
I do not think anyone minds the scruffy surroundings if it was good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Friendly and communicative (which is not obligatory in England) staff, good services, nice breakfast, selection from a lot of beers on bar, and mainly excellent location in heart of Great Langdale. Perfect initial point for a lot of trips. The only con was size of our room. I am only 1.85 m, but I could not turn around, or change clothes in the bathroom. This was really extreme. No space to anything. But most of another things were on very high level.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JardaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We ate here every other night over a two week camping stay in Great Langdale. I sampled every veggie option going with a decent house red whilst my teenage sons enjoyed the fish, scampi & sausage-type options plus coke and the other half went for pies, lamb henry & other meaty options plus a fine selection of ales including old peculiar. We all loved the food, (especially the sticky toffee puddings,) although the inclusion of frozen mixed veg with otherwise great cooking was odd. The weather was wet but we were able to eat under umbrellas outside in the lovely front courtyard and play cards in between courses. The staff were friendly and helpful. We also ate once in the hotel dining room where again the food was excellent and service friendly, but we were the only diners, so missed the atmosphere outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balhamhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Last minute change of plan meant My brother and I were looking for somewhere to stay at 1030 at night last week.

We called in at the ODG if they had rooms. Yes they did. But unfortunately no twin rooms. As we didn't really have many options at they time of day we said we would take a double room. "that's not possible" we were told. "Why not?" we asked.... after much umming and ahing on the behalf of our host I offered to my brother "I think he means 'no gays'". "that's illegal!" said my brother. "no it's not" said our host.

He did however offer us a family room "at extra cost". Honestly, we did not feel like we had any option but to take the room as we had very limited options.

In the morning the lady that we checked out with (a different person to the night before) was very friendly, only charged us the usual rate anyway, and let me use her telephone. I did not mention what had happened the previous night.

However, on reflection I thought it necessary to highlight the discriminatory policy we saw in action that night. It simply was not right and I think people should be aware of my experience.

Nick Murphy

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Nsmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Fantastic room (#9), really surpassed expectations for the price range! Breakfast was good, veggie options were available. Take-away packed lunch available. Fantastic ales, great pies. Perhaps could do with non-pasta veggie option like a potato pie or veggie pie (like mushroom leek). Lots of walking and climbing near the hotel. I would say this is an ideal 2 night stop in the Lakes to explore a less populated area but still have a nice warm place to come home to. If you're self-planning the Cumbria way walk, this is a fantastic hotel option between Coniston and Keswick or Coniston and Borrowdale. Offers everything for tired and hungry walkers! The website has photos of each room and a description. The views from the rooms are beautiful.

Room Tip: The website has beautiful photos and descriptions of each room's facilities and view. We loved N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Can't vouch for the hotel rooms as stayed and have always stayed on the campsite when visiting Langdale valley, but visited (after 20 years) Great Langdale and vouched to visit both the walkers bar at the ODG and feeling lazy also take the option of the full English breakfast in the morning which having pre-booked the night before was a very reasonable 8.00GBP with unlimited coffee and juice. I may be biased towards this place as it was the welcome home after many a day spent on the hills during my hills, but this place (bar and hotel restaurant) remain unique, and looking forward to future visits. Note Breakfast starts at 8am!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing