We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$310
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$265
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
131
81
22
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
81
22
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshikers barresidents loungegreat langdalehungry walkerslangdale valleynational trust car parkgreat beerlamb henrybar mealsthe pubwalking basewholesome foodprivate bathroomscafell pikegood sized portionsfish and chipspie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had a couple of visits to the walker's bar in sept 2013 because it was nearest to my campsite. Welcome pint to quench my thirst after a hard day on the hills. Good selection of ales but I must comment on the bar itself. Great place when you are wet, muddy cold and tired from a long walk as you don't need to bother about keeping the place clean. The bar is now so tired and old fasioned it looks like a museum peice with battered formica tables and worn red vinyl floor covering. Everything looks dirty and the toilets are obviously never cleaned - EVER!
Compared to the 2 bars further up the road at the New DG, this place really needs a makeover to get my business again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed two nights including dinner bed and breakfast. The location really can't be beaten if you plan get up into the hills being as far down Langdale as you can stay. We were helped by great weather and the views from room 9 were very pleasant.
We arrived a little early but it wasn't a problem as the room was ready and we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. The beds were very comfortable and the en suite was reasonably spacious. The shower didn't throw out much water, but it was enough. Don't expect a 'power shower' though. There are steps and a corridor outside the room, so it had the potential to be a little noisy but we found it very quiet after 9/10pm. With the 8.30 breakfasts we weren't woken up in the early morning either so it was a very restful stay.
The public spaces are a bit tired, but it's an old hotel without big corporate money behind it. I would rather have comfort and excellent friendly service though, and forgive some tired decor.
The breakfasts were great and set us up for the day. Tea and toast refills are offered without asking. The dinners were a bit disappointing really, but did fill us up adequately. The dining room was quiet with only a few parties dining each evening. The room is very quiet, and the kitchen is sometimes the only thing you can hear. I found the food to be rich and hearty, and plenty of it, but it was rather heavy and (apart from the carrots and spuds) the veggies were overcooked. Steak and Ale pie was excellent. Desserts were good as well, and the after-dinner coffee served in the characterful lounge was a luxury I haven't experienced in a while.
You can't beat the location though, and coming down from the fells after a full day hillwalking, and returning to the ODG is an experience to remember, especially if the weather was as good as we experienced. This is a special place, all considered.

Room Tip: We liked Room 9 for comfortable beds (one a four poster) and a great view. No experience of others though.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during the August bank holiday. Arrived rather late (after 23.30) due to traffic from London. The road leading to the hotel is fairly easy to find with Sat Nav. The hotel is located away from the crowds and in a nice quiet area. Once we got there, checking in was easy. There are resident parking in front of the hotel. We went to the bar to have a drink before heading to our room.

We booked room 8 which is quite big. It has a double and 2 single bed with a big wardrobe, sink and 2 chairs. One thing to note is there is no TV in this hotel. The bed is comfortable enough. The soundproofing is not great but given the age of the hotel one would expect this.

Anyway the room was cleaned everyday but we noticed the sheets were not changed every day. Also in the room there is coffee/tea making facility but this was not replenished daily either.

The amazing thing about the room is it has big windows where one can sit and have the view of the view of Lake District

The bathroom is also located across the room which can be a bit troublesome especially if you bumped into other guests when walking there in the morning, not looking your best. There are shower gel and shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom and fresh towels. However don't expect to be given new refills daily.

Breakfast is included, so you get the usual juices, coffee/tea, cereal and full English Breakfast. They also do packed lunches (sandwiches/fruit/crisp/water) and if you want dinner, it's 3 course for £25 but you need to pre order this during the day or you can just eat at the Hikers Bar.

The Hikers Bar gets busy early evening and last order for food is about 21.15pm. However the bar doesnt close until much later. The food is very good, excellent service and the portions are big too, mostly priced at £10.95 per dish. I tried the lamb shoulder, chicken curry, game pie...

The other best thing is that the best hiking trail starts at the back of the hotel. There are some fields surrounding the hotel. If you have a dog, the hotel charges a nominal fee for this.

Overall a very good hotel and excellent location.

Room Tip: Room 8 with the View
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundancekid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My first visit to the ODG and I will certainly be going back again in the future. Me and my friend booked room 3 and 5, double rooms with no single person supplement so very good value for single people. Rooms are very very clean and bed linen good quality, bed comfy - liked the extra's such as liquid hand soap and tissues etc as well as a dressing gown and slippers for the very short trip down the corridor to the bathroom which was very spacious and modern. Dogs are made to feel welcome and can go anywhere in the hotel except the dining room which wasn't a problem. Breakfast was excellent, lovely thick bacon and tasty sausage, mushrooms, eggs how you like them, grilled tomatoes (beans if desired) and plenty of toasted home made bread, as well as cereals, juice etc. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. Bar meals are not fancy but good homemade food..puddings are to die for if you can fit 1 in! All in all had a very pleasant stay and will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location is second to none of you like the remote countryside effect. The hotel is nestled beneath the Langdales with scenic views of your classic glacial carved hills and valley. Nearest shop or town is several miles
away. The best part of the hotel is its location. Communal areas/rooms could do with some tlc. The staff are friendly and accommodating. My double room with en suite shower was fairly basic but, average size for UK which is small by US standards but something Americans need to learn to deal with. Bed was firm and comfortable although would be a touch crowded for a couple and too short for a 6+ footer. No TV though. Wifi available around reception area, however signal so weak that it was not available in the lounge or dining room nor up stairs in the rooms. Proprietors would do well to spruce up the decor and boost wifi signals. There is a walker bar (for hikers) which has a nice outside area but the bar itself is very basic. All in all a pleasant hotel which needs some attention but has potential.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von_Vibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews