We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
131
81
22
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
81
22
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshikers barresidents loungegreat langdalehungry walkerslangdale valleynational trust car parkgreat beerlamb henrybar mealsthe pubwalking basewholesome foodprivate bathroomscafell pikegood sized portionsfish and chipspie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I have never before written a review before leaving the establishment concerned. But never before has a member of bar staff been so incredibly rude to me!

It's a lovely spot and I've heard great things about the hotel but we'll be in no rush to come back when staff are downright rude. Shame.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Bestie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is an old famous hiker's and climber's lodging and pub, and is a welcoming spot after a long day's hike. It would be hard to imagine a more stunning setting for a hotel with mountains in every direction. You can book an expensive dinner in the dining room but we just ate regular pub food in the Hiker's Bar. Attentive and knowledgeable staff who packed a great trail lunch for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I'd never heard of the Langdales but I was looking for somewhere for a Saturday night and this was recommended by a Cumbrian. What a place! The room was clean, simple, good shower, but you're not there for that. Put your shoes on and head out over the hills and gasp at the views that await, if you're like us with trainers and no map then best head back before you go too far, but I felt like a good three hours tramping the great outdoors was required before I could show my face in the Hikers Bar. That was the real joy of the weekend; feeling almost like a fraud but gulping down Esthwaite Bitter and digging into some excellent pub fayre.

I'm going to get the bus to Keswick next time then walk the Cumbrian Way to the Old Dungeon Ghyll, this because no good walk should end anywhere different to the Hikers Bar.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BenWrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Only had ale here so I can't comment on rooms and food. The barman that served our group was a bit of a cold-fish, why do that job if you have the wrong temperament? Toilets(male) are dated on not exactly clean or fresh. Nice seating area outside and interesting interior. Mind the step as you venture to the men's loo.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JBrabusLimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not our first time here, in fact a return after a previous visit some years ago, and it never fails to please. The moment you arrive you know you are in a famous climbers pub and hotel - it has that 'old' feel which MUST be retained, this is a place that must stay revered for its history. Reviewers commenting about 'small rooms' etc should think 'old place', and the 'basic bar' is able to take in all, even on the wettest of days; where could you possibly walk in wet through, muddy and disheveled, inside someones property, and be made thoroughly welcome?!
In places like this you would be excused for thinking that the staff 'dont have to try' because there are many more willing customers behind you if you dont like it, but no, they all make a great effort to please and the restaurant staff especially - just glowing, smiling faces - great!
We live in Lakeland, yet stay here........ nuff said!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank croftbarntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews