We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we dreamed it would be”
Review of 3 Cambridge Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
3 Cambridge Villas
Ranked #61 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just what we dreamed it would be”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Lovely friendly place. We chose it after trawling through any number of hotels in the Lake District and it was the best choice we could have made. Just minutes from the bus station where we hopped on to buses that took us to Grasmere, or to the Beatrix Potter house, it was ideally located. In the evening we just had to walk up the road to be spoilt for choice for pubs and places to eat as well as a huge number of adorable shops.
The English breakfast was so sumptuous that we dug in, despite being health fanatics. I can still see the fresh yellow rose on the table in front of me.
So welcoming - the doors were always open with Sue pottering about amongst her beloved flowers.
I hope I can go back next year for an equally relaxing few days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpanaa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    34
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were really impressed with the decor, cleanliness, and overall high standards of this lovely B&B in the center of Ambleside. lovely genuine people, will definitely go again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank johnymingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Superb little B and B in an excellent location just 1 minute away from the bus stop.

It is very good value for money being superbly presented with a beautiful little garden at the front with some chairs and a table to sit in and watch the world go by.

The room we had was well laid out with good quality furniture and a recently modernised bathroom.

Breakfast was of a decent size and very nicely cooked.

Overall an excellent little B and B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tone8906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed for two nights and were very satisfied. The room was reasonable size with an updated bathroom. The owners, Sue and Ray, go the extra mile for your comfort and needs. Breakfasts are ample and very good. Parking is a bit of a problem but they often offered to move the car around for us. We had a few hiccups to deal with and they jumped right in to help us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MnDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed overnight after an 8 hour drive from the Isle of Skye. We were lucky enough to spot the 'vacancies' sign outside and took the last room. It was very clean and decorated nicely to a good standard. Room 8 at the very top wasn't very large at all (i couldnt open the case anywhere except on the bed), but in all other respects it was excellent. The owners were more than helpful and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was comfortable in every way. Breakfast was really good too, and I'd certainly stay here again if I had the chance. I wont put up with any old tosh and I want value for money as well. This place ticked all the boxes for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed three nights in April 2011, my first visit to the lakes.
Was thrilled with the location this hotel was situated in.
Even more, so we were thrilled to have such lovely breakfasts and flasks filled for us to set us up for our day. The morning chats were an added bonus. Thank you Sue for looking after us and all the best for the future.
Sas and Lou

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SasAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2011

we have stayed here now for 2 years running, sue and ray are lovely people and are helpful with just about everything.the rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean,not to mention the very yummy breakfast to start the day ,ideal location and exellant value for money would recommend to anyone even those with young children, our daughter was 1 when we first stayed and our needs were more than catered for,lokking forward to staying again in the beautiful ambleside.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally23308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thorneyfield
Thorneyfield
#58 of 103 in Ambleside
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Cambridge Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Cambridge Villas

Property: 3 Cambridge Villas
Address: 3 Cambridge Villas Church Street, Ambleside la22 9dl, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ann and Andrew welcome you to 3 Cambridge Villas Bed and Breakfast. We are situated in the centre of the lovely Lakeland village of Ambleside, less than 5 minutes walk away from many of the villages many shops, pubs, restaurants and other amenities. Our house was built in the Victorian era, traditional slate on the outside and clean and modern on the inside. We have 5 double bedrooms and 1 single bedroom all of which are en-suite with showers. If you would like to book with us and get the best possible rates please book through our own on-line booking page or give us a call. Below, we have listed a few good reasons why you might like to come to Ambleside and stay at 3 Cambridge villas: - Ideal location in the heart of the Lake District. We are in the centre of Ambleside but off the main road. - Great array of pubs, cafes and restaurants within strolling distance. - 15-minute walk to the Lake Cruises at Waterhead on the shores of Windermere. - Lots of the best hill walks start from Ambleside. - We have secure bike storage in our shed, room for a few push bikes and two motorbikes. More outside storage available. - All our guests have a front door key so you can come and go whenever you want. - Free Wi-Fi (subject to availability) - Limited free parking space if you book early or there is a public car park at the back of the house. - Coming by bus, the bus stop is less than one minute away. - Great breakfasts, (big ones or small ones) we will try to accommodate any special requirements. - There are many outdoor activities just across the road including Pitch and Putt, Crazy Golf, Tennis and Bowls. - We have three great cinemas within a 5 minute walk showing a great selection of films and genres. - We are a completely non smoking Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 3 Cambridge Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Cambridge Villas Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing