We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Ambleside trip”
Review of 3 Cambridge Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
3 Cambridge Villas
Ranked #59 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“New Years Ambleside trip”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

First and not last visit to this B & B, all we could have asked for, and close to the pub, a result as the rain never stopped. The cooked breakfast was exceptional.
Ambleside certainly know how to celebrate a New Years eve.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    34
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Recently stayed at this excellent B&B for 2 nights. It's in an great location, not far from shops and restaurants and is ideally placed for trips to the surrounding places of interest. The room was clean and had coffee and tea making facilities. Really enjoyed the cooked breakfast and the owners were friendly and knowledgable. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugaroo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this only 16 hours beforehand having had my booking elsewhere cancelled

What can I say, perfect

Lovely room, hosts and a delicious little breakfast with the hosts going out of their way to cater to my runners pre race diet of porridge and a fry up.

Great location and parking provided.

I'd definitely stay here again

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I spent a couple of days at 3 Cambridge Villas and found my stay very enjoyable, it is ideally located right in the centre of Ambleside with Restaurants and pubs within yards of the front door. Breakfast was varied and plentiful served between 8:30 and 9:00. Free Wifi is available and worked well. Sue and Ray are friendly and attentive, helping with parking, suggestions for walks etc. Parking is limited and I suspect problematic when fully booked though there is a car park directly behind the establishment. Personally I would have no hesitation in recommending and will check availability next time I am in the area

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank msfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We received a warm welcome and shown to our rooms which were spotlessly clean, the bed was especially comfortable - just like being at home. Breakfast plentiful with good choice of cereals, yoghourt and a well cooked English breakfast all served by a cheerful host.
Nothing was to much trouble for our hosts, we will certainly return again and recommend to friends.
Thank you for a very enjoyable weekend our Swedish friends did not know what a B and B was but really liked it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in May and were made to feel very welcome and at home, thanks so much Sue to you, your husband and the rest of your team! The food was lovely, rooms very clean, comfortable bed and service with a smile. Have already recommended this B&B to friends and will certainly be returning ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatHarrison01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Been staying at this b and b for over 10 years. Sue and Ray are great hosts. Always helpful with parking. Clean and comfy rooms, great breakfast and very welcoming. Will always return when staying in Ambleside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#8 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#41 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#40 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Cambridge Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Cambridge Villas

Property: 3 Cambridge Villas
Address: 3 Cambridge Villas Church Street, Ambleside la22 9dl, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ann and Andrew welcome you to 3 Cambridge Villas Bed and Breakfast. We are situated in the centre of the lovely Lakeland village of Ambleside, less than 5 minutes walk away from many of the villages many shops, pubs, restaurants and other amenities. Our house was built in the Victorian era, traditional slate on the outside and clean and modern on the inside. We have 5 double bedrooms and 1 single bedroom all of which are en-suite with showers. If you would like to book with us and get the best possible rates please book through our own on-line booking page or give us a call. Below, we have listed a few good reasons why you might like to come to Ambleside and stay at 3 Cambridge villas: - Ideal location in the heart of the Lake District. We are in the centre of Ambleside but off the main road. - Great array of pubs, cafes and restaurants within strolling distance. - 15-minute walk to the Lake Cruises at Waterhead on the shores of Windermere. - Lots of the best hill walks start from Ambleside. - We have secure bike storage in our shed, room for a few push bikes and two motorbikes. More outside storage available. - All our guests have a front door key so you can come and go whenever you want. - Free Wi-Fi (subject to availability) - Limited free parking space if you book early or there is a public car park at the back of the house. - Coming by bus, the bus stop is less than one minute away. - Great breakfasts, (big ones or small ones) we will try to accommodate any special requirements. - There are many outdoor activities just across the road including Pitch and Putt, Crazy Golf, Tennis and Bowls. - We have three great cinemas within a 5 minute walk showing a great selection of films and genres. - We are a completely non smoking Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 3 Cambridge Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Cambridge Villas Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing