We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Haven of Lakeland Tranquillity"”
Review of Slack Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slack Cottage
Ranked #35 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A Haven of Lakeland Tranquillity"”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Trish and Ron.

A twist of fate brought us unexpectedly to this wonderful cottage, nestling amid the quiet countryside, overlooking Lake Windermere.

The accommodation is second to none, offering comfortable, attractively decorated rooms, with breathtaking views.

Delicious breakfasts, beautifully prepared by Liz and served by Chris, provide an excellent opportunity to savour local produce.

Chris was only too pleased to suggest exhilarating yet not too demanding walks which offer excellent views of the surrounding countryside and are within easy reach of High Wray.

This gave us a great start to our exploration of an area of the Lake District which was as yet unknown to us.

The sheer enjoyment of catering for their guests shone through Liz and Chris's exceptional hospitality and we are looking forward very much to our next visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Apologies my rhyme is not the best
But I have to get this off my chest
I'm no Wordsworth or Beatrix P
But I'd like to tell you what Slack means to me

It's like home from home
A tranquil space
A sanctuary from life's fast pace
A cottage with a Viking past
With comfy rooms & a huge breakfast!

Liz & Chris so friendly too
Just sit in the garden, drink in the view
So give it a try-you won't regret
And like me you'll return
I'd definitely bet!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms - one of which can be made into two single beds. Both are quiet and have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We are student and it was an 'accidence' that we booked the room. There were only one remaining room left when we booked it, which is at the quite side of the Windermere Lake opposite to the crowded town. It is better to drive a car (we took 30 minute bus and 30 minute walk to find there). There were only two double rooms in a lovely cottage with exquisite decorations and surprisingly wonderful view. There is also a lovely garden. The lake is just 50 meters away and there is a private pathway directly leading to the lake. The host of the cottage is also a professor in geology, who is very knowledgeable in his profession as well as achitecture. There could be a field trip around the lake (so you can hear a lot of knowlege) or a watercolour painting trip if you ask for it (we didnot do it since we just stayed for two days). It was a remarkable trip which we never had before, I am sure we will come back. Stronly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ming C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Slack Cottage is a bed and breakfast of a very high standard. The rooms are lovely with outstanding views in a peaceful setting. Your hosts Chris and Liz ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. My friend and I look forward to our visits, as we enjoy the peace and tranquillity and the exceptional hospitality provided by Chris and Liz. If you want peace and tranquillity with lovely rooms, nice views and exceptional hospitality, with a very good breakfast to set you up for the day, then Slack Cottage is the place to stay. You won't be disappointed.
Kath Cleveleys

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kath b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

....and that was the only thing we had to regret. We spent here fantastic 11 days. Slack cottage really exceeded all of our expectattons. A peaceful and secluded place with stunning views of the lake Windermere, a charmingly decorated house and last but not least very friendly hosts: Liz & Chris. We didn*t miss anything, not even the busy world outside.
Thanks for all and take care.
Sabine & Jens from Berlin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jens A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We arrived at Slack cottage and were immediately captivated by the amazing views and surroundings, Were made to feel very welcome by our hosts Chris and Liz, we loved the room which was immaculately presented. The breakfast was very enjoyable and would highly recommend this place for those who enjoy peaceful breaks with tranquil surroundings and excellent hosts. An absolute must to sample the delights of the lake district.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 334alexj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a wonderful way to celebrate a special anniversary in such an idyllic setting far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. To wake up in the morning to the views and sounds that greet you when you look out of your bedroom window overlooking Lake Windermere is something breathtaking. Intimate, tranquil, everything and more than we could ever have expected. Our room was charming, the food delicious, and our hosts, Liz and Chris, were so welcoming. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us. Pete & Linda.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank klaus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Wray Farm
High Wray Farm
#34 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#24 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wateredge Inn
Wateredge Inn
#31 of 103 in Ambleside
594 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
336 reviews
2.5 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slack Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slack Cottage

Property: Slack Cottage
Address: High Wray, Ambleside LA22 0JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Slack Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slack Cottage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing