We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All True”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #2 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It's All True”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

What can I say? It's all been said before. Beautiful location, fabulous hosts - the only problem is that it is not a secret so we have to book 6 months in advance. Thanks to Dave and Brenda for our fifth memorable visit. Thanks from Dylan as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,110
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
882
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Myself and my (then) boyfriend chose The Riverside for a romantic weekend away based on these TA reviews and can honestly say that the real life experience is even better than the reviews! Go and see for yourself. We couldn't recommend it more!
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel more than welcome. Loads of information from Dave on our arrival, possibly the best breakfast we've ever had with a lot to chose from (I'm vegetarian) and a fab nights sleep in a really comfortable bed. Dave and Brenda seemed to really care about their guests, you can tell that they genuinely love running this gorgeous guest house in the most picturesque of settings.

To make our weekend even more special than it would have been, my boyfriend proposed to me on a walk recommended by Dave, they really helped my partner in his nervous moments too... Brenda and Dave were so excited to be involved and even gave us a card and a hug..

You may think that the hotel is a little too far from Ambleside, but we didn't realise that it's only a short 5-10 min walk from the centre via a lovely park and church yard (they provide torches and umbrellas in case you need them too) So that really isn't a problem at all. in fact it's better because it's so quiet with just the noise of the lovely river outside to sooth you to sleep.
Don't even look any further just book The Riverside. We shall be doing so again.
Claire and Ian.. x Thanks again.. x

Room Tip: Cannot comment on other rooms except walking past whilst they were being cleaned and they all looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrecambrianRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We just continue to visit this wonderful oasis in The Lakes. What a wonderful place it continues to be with lovely hosts Brenda and David offering such great service. Spotlessly clean with breakfasts to die for (would recommend you try the meusli fruit bowl at breakfast and speciality breads). Great location with an easy 20 minute walk across the park into Ambleside centre. Would never stay anywhere else in The Lakes. We have just had a two night break and the sun shone non stop, brilliant. The only down side is, if Riverside continues in the same vein we will have difficulty getting in! Already booked our next visit. Well done B & D. we love it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjttDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Do not doubt that you will experience only the best at Riverside from hosts Dave and Brenda. In all our travels in Australia and overseas we have never experienced such a welcome and care at a B&B. Everything that you could wish for is already supplied without asking by your hosts.
The Riverside is located a quiet walk away from the town of Ambleside which offers more than expected from shops, eateries and restaurants. The countryside is beautiful with walks and outings to suit all capabilities. Or you can sit around spotting the many bird as you quietly read or just ponder the meaning of life.
Ken and Wendy, Melbourne, Oz

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Riverside our third visit. Dave and Brenda are the perfect hosts. What can we say we have stayed in five star hotels across the world but the Riverside takes some beating . The rooms are immaculately clean and cosy, the bathrooms are new and have complimentary toiletries. In the evening when you return the house is lit by lovely smelling candles and the lovely smell of homemade bread, a breakfast speciality. The breakfast is lovely with all home produce. We have already booked for next year but hope to return before then. Keep up the excellent work and we will see you soon. Gail and Steve.

Room Tip: "all rooms are lovely"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailomalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have been coming to the Riverside for over a decade and it is always exceptional. We were certainly not disappointed this time with spotless rooms, delicious breakfasts and the welcome is second to none. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Brenda and David deserve all the accolades they have received, everything about Riverside is perfect from the warm welcome to the wonderful breakfast with home made bread, local produce and a daily weather forecast to help you plan your day. The rooms have every comfort and the lounge is just the perfect place to sink into a comfy sofa and listen to the soothing music after a busy day. We have been returning to this lovely place for years and every time we go things just get better and better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, the four poster is great for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2atravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
285 reviews
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#4 of 103 in Ambleside
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing