We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful visit”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #3 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another wonderful visit”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I visited Riverside for the fifth time earlier this week and once again had a wonderful experience. Dave and Brenda are the most welcoming and friendly hosts; rooms are spotless; the guest lounge is warm and cosy and breakfast delicious. Our only wish is that we could visit even more often! Thanks again Brenda and Dave. We hope to be back soon. Rachel and Matt

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubadivermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
865
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed, along with friends, for 3 nights and what a pleasure it was. The Riverside is a beautiful building in a stunning location. You can hear the river flow past as you go to sleep and the town is only a short walk away through a park but once indoors, you feel a million miles from anywhere. Dave and Brenda keep the Riverside in pristine condition and every need is catered for - breakfast is lovely (homemade breads and locally sourced foods are great), there's a cosy lounge to rest in as soon as you walk through the door, torches to take on nighttime strolls, and lovely warm rooms to sleep in after days walking and exploring. It goes without saying, we'll be going back when we head up that mountain in sunnier months!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil9642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

It's the little things that really make this place stand out: the tealight lanterns on the steps welcoming you home were my favourite. Brenda and Dave are so welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much trouble in fact they really seem to love doing whatever they can to make your stay special. Lovely accommodation great food and outstanding hosts. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littleang6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Brenda and Dave. Freshly baked cakes were ready for us to have with a hot drink. The lounge was welcoming and cosy with the log burner lit and sending out a homely glow. Brenda and Dave went the extra mile, as last time, to make us feel comfortable and to provide us with excellent accommodation and breakfasts. The room gave a lovely view of the river and was extremely comfortable with cleanliness of a very high standard. Brenda and Dave were only too pleased to give advice regarding local walks and places to eat. Choice of menu for breakfast was excellent and gave healthy options as well as the wonderful English breakfast. They are very supportive of the local businesses and use their products wherever possible. In addition they provide Eco friendly cleansing products which demonstrates their care and concern for the local environment. We would not hesitate to recommend Riverside to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

On arrival we were met by dave and Brenda who not only gave us our keys but a very warm welcome. Our room 2 was lovelywe really enjoyed the chairs. Breakfast was lovely the home made bread was very nice. At no point was payment asked for or mentioned in fact we had to bring the subject up. We would have no hesitation in recommending Riverside to anyone. Thank you Brenda and dave for making joanne and my valentines weekend so special.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were met by Brenda and Dave and shown around the place, very friendly. A lot of information is available regarding local restaurants, walks things to do etc.
Dave told us of some local walks and how to get into the centre of Ambleside etc
Breakfast were superb with only the best quality ingredients used local sausages were very good.
Bedroom was very clean and the wet room was a great idea, bed was really comfortable
We would recommend the Riverside to anybody visiting the area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveOssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Ambleside is a wonderful place to base yourself in The Lakes district - now our second stay. Riverside was fully booked so we stayed at the cottage (a large cottage !) next door and had breakfast at the B & B. There was absolutely nothing to fault - the beds were comfy - the house clean and beautifully furnished - it was quiet, comfortable and cosy (it was December !). Our hosts were so welcoming and friendly and we even had some lovely home made bread left for us in the cottage. The view from the main bedroom is picture perfect overlooking the stream. It is also only a short walk into the town. The breakfast was beautifully cooked - everything made lovingly - down to home made breads and preserves. We are looking forward to a chance to go again !

Room Tip: We didn't see the rooms in the guesthouse but the cottage was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyM_Travelnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,166 reviews
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
536 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing