We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #1 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
1 review
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our first visit to Riverside, spotlessly clean, amazing attention to detail. Homemade bread (blueberry & almond - amazing). This is a B&B with Hotel quality but more homely. We couldn't have been made more welcome. Dave & Brenda have lots of information available about the area & lakes in general, recommendations on places to eat etc.
Would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojambat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
845
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Once again our stay at The Riverside was great. The breakfasts are fantastic with lots of attention to detail (love the homemade potato cakes) and all locally sourced. The breakfasts certainly set you up for a day on the fells. Dave and Brenda are brilliant hosts and can't do enough for you. Can't wait to go back again in August!

Room Tip: No tip needed - all the rooms are licelt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

It was our first time in the Lake District and I can stay it will not be our last or to the Riverside.

The hotel is in a great location, car spent most of its time in the car park.

Like everyone has said the breakfast is local, homemade, and totally yummy - just what you need in the morning.

Rooms very comfortable, clean and cozy.

With the warm welcome received and feeling of ease we would recommend The Riverside to anyone and we are sure to return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a short notice break in the Lakes at the end of February. We wanted to be in Ambleside and choose "Riverside' entirely on the basis of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. So let me say straight away that the 9.9 rating is entirely justified. Set in a quiet location by Loughrigg, but only 12 minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside, it provided a perfect base for a few days walking (and with so many walks right from the hotel, the car stayed in the car park). Much has already been said in other reviews about the very warm welcome, the well appointed and very comfortable rooms, and the fantastic breakfasts (so I won't add anything here except to say all of those reviews are true), but I would like to add a comment about the guest lounge. A log fire, comfortable chairs (I fell asleep in one beside the fire after one walk), books, maps, guides and DVDs, and a licence which allows David to bring you a glass of local ale after a long walk just made 'Riverside' a very special place. Thank you David and Brenda - Sue and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun_Silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were able to stay at Riverside again last weekend at short notice due to a cancellation, after a lovely warm welcome from Brenda & Dave, as always, we were shown to a very comfortable and cosy room. Breakfast was delicious, the home made bread and fruit muesli bowl are especially recommended!
A nightcap in the lounge in front of the lovely log fire rounded off the evening after our meal out. By far the best place to stay in the area, we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daff0dil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel sets the standard, Brenda and David work exceptionally hard to ensure that all needs are met, even to having bird recognition books in the window at breakfast to help identify the many birds on the feeders.

The breakfast was excellent that included homemade bread and preserves. The room was clean and comfortable.

The hotel deserves its 5 star status

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just returned from another weekend with David and Brenda, just keeps getting better, if that is possible. Nothing is too much trouble for them, breakfast is just fantastic, hope to return very soon. Thank you David and Brenda.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sconeaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing