We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews don't lie”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside B&B
Ranked #3 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a very special hotel, run by very special people. All the people giving this a 5* review aren't wrong. David and Brenda work very hard to ensure that everything is just right, the breakfasts are superb and the location is perfect. Ambleside it just a short pleasant stroll away through the park and we would really recommend Room 2 as it is beautifully decorated and the sounds of the river opposite make it very tranquil.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
There are newer reviews for Riverside B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a very special place run by two very special people. This was our seventh visit and it was as wonderful as all our previous visits. Breakfasts divine, attention to detail superb, but subtle. Our black lab is very welcome in the garden which at this time of year is full of colour and even some sunshine! I don't know know how anyone could find fault with Riverside, we just adore it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have been going to Riverside for 5 years now and it is just perfect. We went again for 2 nights last weekend and received the usual warm welcome from Brenda and David. We were more than delighted with our stay the whole care and attention to detail is wonderful. I'm sure their breakfast can't be beaten and we would gladly recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Dave is very helpful with his wealth of local information and so very caring. Brenda's breakfasts, homemade breads etc, are to die for, try the yoghurt granola one day and then for fun the boiled eggs and soldiers the next. You cannot improve on perfection.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This has been our 5th year at The Riverside. We come every year in April/May. Without exception the hotel is perfect every single time we visit. The rooms have everything one should need and much, much more. And so comfortable! David and Brenda's welcome and continuing care is perfection in every sense of the word. The breakfasts are divine - try the organic muesli and yoghurt. My! my! Or the porridge and blueberries drizzled with honey. Not forgetting the highest quality sausages! In the evening, after a walk across the park to the excellent restaurants in Ambleside, return to sit by the wood burner and relax before one retires to bed. It's just wonderful!

Room Tip: They are all perfect!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After staying many times in the adjoining Gilbertscar Foot cottage this was our first occasion of B&B at Riverside. As we expected Riverside’s accommodation was outstanding. Our rooms were to the highest standards of comfort and cleanliness. They were very well furnished and equipped, including a TV and free WiFi. Fresh coffee, tea and biscuits together with bottled water were provided each day of our stay. The shower and bath rooms were pristine, with ample provision of local toiletries. The lounge area was welcoming and relaxing with a log wood burner maintaining a pleasant temperature. The lounge contained voluminous amounts of information about the locality, walks and amenities including a resume of local restaurants, menus and prices together with previous guest’s views and recommendations as to which provided value for money.
Brenda and Dave were the consummate hosts helping our three night stay to be enjoyable and relaxing, they were always available and ready to help if needed. Brenda’s variety of homemade bread together with the locally sourced jams was the perfect accompaniment to the breakfast options on offer, all of which were meticulously prepared and served. A sound way of setting you up for a day’s walking.
We would highly recommend both Riverside and Gilbertscar Foot cottage. We are already eagerly planning our next return visit to Brenda and Dave’s exceptional residences.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are just back from our 2nd visit to Riverside, and have had exactly the same experience as our first visit - we will certainly be back again. Dave and Brenda run their B&B just as it should be, with first class attention to their customers and nothing too much for them. The rooms are lovely and clean and very comfortable, and the setting of the hotel is just perfect, looking over a small river.

The breakfasts are just superb and really set you up for the day.

As with our previous, the real difference with Riverside is the trully amazing personal touch that Dave and Brenda put to everything, from the time you arrive until you leave. We had a couple of lovely restaurant recommendations from them, and you couldn't find a more helpful couple.

Thanks again for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,708 reviews
4.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £91 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing