We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always another fantastic stay”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #3 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“As always another fantastic stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been fortunate enough to have stayed at Riverside over a number of years now, and can honestly say that all the reviews are true, David and Brenda are fantastic with all of their guests and really make you feel welcome. Believe me you will not be disappointed by any stay that you have at Riverside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesiGrinnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
94
892
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A lovely hotel by the river just outside Ambleside.
The owners are such lovely people who make you feel important.
Gorgeous room and lovely home-made breakfasts.
Just a lovely walk into Ambleside in 10 minutes or drive in 3.
The Riverside is a special hotel!

Room Tip: They look like they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from Riverside and had had a very enjoyable stay. Our hosts Dave and Brenda did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. All the information we received on arrival was invaluable. The room and bathroom were lovely and bright. Best of all was the breakfast, wonderfully cooked with yummy homemade bread and potato cakes the cooked breakfast was delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to recomend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We chose Riverside Hotel because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.
We read that it is a very special hotel, run by very special people in a beautiful setting. Guests said that the breakfast is superb. The hotel is clean and very comfortable. We were told Dave and Brenda are as good as hosts as you could ever wish for - charming and attentive. David has lots of information available about walks, recommendations for restaurants etc.
Having stayed there we agree with it all. We congratulate David and Brenda on their achievements at Riverside Hotel and heartily recommend a visit here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

All too short stay with my son at this lovely hotel. Beautiful setting and only a short pleasant walk to the centre of Ambleside. As has been said the breakfast is superb with many locally sourced ingredients and David and Brenda could not have been more welcoming or helpful. .They obviously work very hard to ensure their guests have an enjoyable stay. I certainly agree with the other reviewers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just got home after another stay at Riverside and again, everything was perfect. Beautiful setting, so tranquil and relaxing. After a long walk through stunning scenery, then a warm, cosy nights sleep, it's a joy to come down to one of Dave and Brenda's superb breakfasts. Riverside and it's delightful hosts are perfect in every way, we're already planning our next stay. Cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A most idyllic setting, brilliant hosts and fantastic breakfasts. Anything we needed was provided by Brenda & David - advice on walks and the provision of excellent and informative maps was very much appreciated. The room had everything we needed and after long days exploring the Spa Bath was very welcoming.

The little things always make a difference and after returning soaking wet David was there to retrieve our wet clothing and boots and the next morning they were dry ready for us to go out once more. David's knowledge of the area is outstanding and his recommendations for walks were
superb.

All in all excellent 4 day break which was enhanced by our hosts. The standards we encountered were superb - breakfasts were wonderful. Writing this review following our break in February and the little touches on Valentine's day still make us smile - Chocolate hearts, heart shaped lights and more....

We came away fully refreshed and with many pleasant memories - Thank You.

Room Tip: The room with the Spa Bath and riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,686 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing