We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highligh recommended”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #2 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highligh recommended”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights at early August 2014 at Riverside. I was initially surprised that the B&B does not have a unit number, it just said “Under Loughrigg” which was a really long, winding road but if one were to drive further in, one should not miss it. Overall, it was an extremely memorable stay. Two thumbs up!

It was rainy when we got there so the carpet looked a bit dirty because some guests had dragged their dirty shoes in. But in spite of the carpet at the main entrance, the facility was clean and well-maintained. The longue area on the ground floor was large and quite cozy. The hosts had a small desk full of local guidebooks and driving routes guide which guests can borrow. They also maintained a folder of restaurant menus from nearby restaurants along with a separate folder with guest comments on each particular restaurants.

The location of the B&B was pretty good. It was away from the crowd at Ambleside but sufficiently close to the city centre (around 10-15 minutes’ walk or 30 minutes’ stroll).

The proprietors, Dave and Brenda, were hospitable and friendly. They make great hosts and I can see that they put a lot of attention to the details. For example, during breakfast, the hosts printed a copy of the day’s weather forecast and the headline news. If you happen to sit by the window during breakfast, you would notice a bird-feeding station in the yard outside. It’s so relaxing to watch the birds feed while you have your breakfast. Breakfast was delicious. I had smoked salmon with scrambled egg. The egg was done to a very high standard, it was moist, soft, and well-seasoned. Brenda made different bread every morning for breakfast and it was delicious. We had brioche bread on the first day and blueberry bread on the second day.

I should also mention that Ambleside is about 10 minutes’ drive from Langdale Valley (google and set your GPS to Dungeon Ghyll), which in my opinion, is the highlight of my trip to the Lake District.

I highly recommend Riverside to travellers who want to visit Ambleside.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
855
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Riverside is the home from home you were looking, which is owned and run by Bren and Dave, who put all their heart into giving you the most thought through customer experience. Dave and Bren have thought of every single detail to make your stay the perfect stay in the lake district and not to mention the high standards of the facilities.

The house has very spacious and very light rooms - all with their own bathrooms incl. bath tubs. All rooms are very quiet as you are just slightly out of Ambleside and this is the only house for a couple of hundred meters down a quiet lane. There is a beautiful river running parallel to the house which is the only sound apart from the tweeting birds that you'll hear.

The house has the most incredible back garden to which you'll have access and cushions and blankets are provided to take outdoors. Lots of bird and deer watching can be done in this garden.

The property is the perfect base if you like a gentle walk or good hike in the Lake District and is just a 15mins walk (through a park) to the town centre of Ambleside. Dave will provide you with lots of info on all different walks to take and history around some of the amazing places near by.

The breakfast is to a very high standard - Bren makes a variety of homemade fresh breads which are complimented with homemade jams and marmalades from local bakeries. The majority of the food is locally sourced. Even the bathroom toiletries are locally produced in an eco-friendly way.

Loved it - and will recommend this as a base in The Lakes to everyone. We cannot wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvi_Reussner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Dave and Brenda simply can't do enough for you, attention to detail and service is faultless and hospitality is 2nd to none, treating you right from the start like old friends.
Expect high quality locally sourced food of a very high standard, the cooked breakfast which inc's home made bread and filter coffee is superb and will keep you going until evening dinner as you also have cereals and toast with lovely jams. If booking be sure to check if you want a bath, my room didn't but it had an excellent powerful shower which I prefer though some people may prefer a bath after long walks....the other people in our party had room3 that did have a bath.

Would happily visit again as the location and welcoming nature of the host made our visit a very memorable experience, we walked the old man of coniston mountain during our stay which we followed from a guide book but, the hosts are very knowledgeable of local walks for all abilities.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Riverside at Ambleside is run by the wonderful David and Brenda Milne, who were incredibly welcoming and continuously helpful in making our stay memorable. The rooms are comfortable, clean and a very high standard. They also had locally produced hair and body products which were so great I ended up buying some to take home! The breakfast selection is delicious and varied - full english, eggs benedict, cereals, homemade breads - a new type every day. Coupled with the peace of the surrounding area and the sound of the river just feet away from the hotel, you really couldn't ask for a better place to stay in the Lakes. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The one with the spa bath and four posted bed was so peaceful and comfortable and really huge - we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our fifth visit to Riverside was once again wonderful. Dave and Brenda are delightful and are perfect hosts. Everything remains wonderfully maintained, spotlessly clean and so homely. The breakfast is delicious and sets you up for the day. Little touches throughout the hotel make it unique and we really don't want to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for two nights based upon the trip advisor reviews.
Our room was on the top floor overlooking the river and was spotlessly clean. Bottled water was provided every day as well as tea making, biscuits and small chocolates.
David and Brenda are friendly and helpful providing all the advise required to make our stay the best.
Lots of books and maps are to hand in the comfy lounge area with restaurant reports and tips.
Breakfast is outstanding with local products and Brenda's home made bread ! All lovingly explained by a proud David !
Safe parking, we never used the car during our stay, Riverside is a short, pleasant stroll into Ambleside along the river and through the pretty park,
Totally recommend RIverside b&b, we hope to be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a truly OUTSTANDING experience--worthy of all the praise it has received! Everything from Dave and Brenda’s kindness to the very smallest details will make this our favorite B&B or hotel stay we have ever had. With only 6 rooms, every guest is made to feel special. Every guest we spoke with was a “regular” and had been returning for years for their annual stay at Riverside—and I now understand why! Every morning was filled with excellent and substantial breakfasts featuring local ingredients and the very freshest of ingredients, and Brenda’s homemade bread of course! We sat in the charming dining room and looked out over the garden and river each morning. Our room was spotlessly clean and featured fantastic locally handmade bath products. We had bottled water and small biscuit/cookies and chocolates placed in our room each day. Dave spent time with us each morning to help us plan our day and which walks/drives might suit our needs. They have a substantial supply of maps and travel information for everything you might be interested in. The quiet location is a short walk from the small town of Ambleside which is full of shops and restaurants. Some of our favorite walking trails originate within walking distance to the hotel. If you are looking for someplace special where you can relax and feel amazingly welcome—this is THE place! We were so lucky to be able to stay here!!!! Book early as they fill up quickly (and I understand why!). It was so hard to leave this charming place!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a small charming room. I think any room would be wonderful though.The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#4 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing