We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treasure which we hope to visit again and again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #1 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
2 reviews
“A real treasure which we hope to visit again and again.”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We enjoyed every moment of our stay. Dave and Brenda are marvellous hosts. They have an outstanding house with all the little things that bring out the charm factor. The breakfasts were superb and teh access to Ambleside was very convenient while retaining a real country feel. Looking forward to visiting again and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappycoupleBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
843
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Thank you Dave and Brenda for another lovely stay. We have now visited Riverside a number of times and will definitely be back again. The rooms are always clean and tidy, the breakfasts great, particularly if you are vegetarian and the service exceptional. The hotel is very convenient for Ambleside centre and other areas of the Lake District with numerous walks on the door-step. This is the perfect place to unwind and relax.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RibbleValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, UAE
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

From the welcoming greeting of Brenda and Dave to the fond farewell this was a perfect trip and place to stay. The rooms were very comfortable and the little added touches,tealights on the front steps when you return in the evening, the superb breakfast and not least the always willing help of Dave to provide any information to make your visit to the area more enjoyable.. We will definately return. I can not imagine staying anywhere else in the Lakes. Thank you so much for a lovely holiday!
Wayne and Joan Meadows, Abu Dhabi, UAE

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinaround12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2009

This was our second stay and the standards were just as we found 5 years ago but everything was fresh and to a very high grade. Brenda and David are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are light, airy and spotlessly clean. The breakfast menu is extensive and just what one needs for a good days walk. The position of the hotel is superb -it is an easy walk into Ambleside and one can do many good walks from the house. To us it is a real home from home

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothwell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We have recently returned from our third trip to Riverside and as always, it was fantastic. We were met with such a warm welcome from Brenda and Dave and soon settled into our room.
We love all the personal touches and the use of local produce.
Breakfast was up to the usual high standard and set us up nicely for the day.
Riverside is perfectly situated and is just a short walk into the centre of Ambleside.
If you are looking for information on walk or eating out, Dave and Brenda are experts and will soon tell you the name of their favourite restaurant which we can highly recommend.
We had a fantastic time and you will too, so just go!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weecraigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We have recently returned from a 3 night break at Riverside. Dave and Brenda are perfect hosts - their welcome and the manner in which they look after their guests is a credit to them both.Nothing is too much trouble and the little extras that are provided make for a very relaxing break.
Breakfasts are made from high quality products and the Muesli Fruit Bowl and Homemade Breads are superb and not to be forgotten in a hurry!
Our room was spotlessly clean and the lounge has sufficient information about walks and places to visit to keep anyone entertained for months!
We highly recommend Riverside. Well done Dave and Brenda

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Just returned from a 2 night break at the Riverside and can report that this is THE place to be in Ambleside.
The location was absolutely perfect for us. The Riverside is so peaceful, overlooking the river and fells and is a pleasant stroll through the park into the centre of Ambleside. There is plenty of car parking and numerous walks available right from the property.
The breakfasts were the best ever, using local and homemade produce, filling us up well into the afternoon (even through a strenuous hike!).
The bedroom was large and beautifully furnished with an enormous bathroom complete with corner bath - ideal for soaking those aching limbs! Well appointed with flat screen TV, locally made bath products and plenty of tea and coffee etc.
The dining room is lovely and so is the residents lounge with a wood burning stove (i imagine it to be very cosy in the wintertime) and an abundance of walking maps, books, DVD's and other things to keep you occupied. You can even get served a glass of wine or local beer at very reasonable prices.
If the weather is good you can relax in the garden with table and chairs overlooking the fell - very peacful
If you have a laptop you should bring it to take advantage of the free WIFI
This place really has all the ingredients required for a perfect break in Ambleside.

A sincere thankyou to Dave and Brenda, we hope to be back soon (that's if we can get a room!)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,620 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#10 of 105 in Ambleside
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#6 of 105 in Ambleside
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#2 of 105 in Ambleside
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing