We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hosts , superb location, relax and enjoy !”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #3 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant hosts , superb location, relax and enjoy !”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Our second stay with David and Brenda, everything as perfect as last time ! Great breakfasts and quiet location within easy walk of ambleside centre, listening to the river as you fall asleep after a day on the hills. Friendly and welcoming, with great local knowledge - its the only place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marathonman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
892
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

If there was ever a competition for the best B&B in England, then Dave and Brenda would have to be among the top few finalists! They have paid a lot of attention to making Riverside feel like it is your home and not a Hotel. I reckon getting the balance here would be a challenge and yet Dave and Brenda have got it just right.

More about our reasons for choosing Riverside. We wanted to stay in Ambleside because it is central to most Lakeside activities. But we didn't want to stay right in Town, but never-the-less wanted something close by. The reviews on Tripadvisor confirmed that Riverside was for us and only a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants of Ambleside. Dave even has torches if you are going at night and believe me, you will need them!

You've probably already read other favorable Reviews about Riverside, so all I would like to say is that the place is spotlessly clean, it is very, very quiet at night and even during the day the odd vehicle is no bother. Heating is more than adequate and the Breakfast is lovely; with limited but excellent selection and all cooked to your individual preference. There is also wi-fi available.

My only tip is that if you are tall (over 5'10") request that you are not in the attic suites as the bathrooms have limited headroom. We're small, so it was no problem and we loved the attic. Actually, I do have another tip. If you are a Beatle's fan like Dave, then you may be able to persuade him to play some of their great stuff....even during breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordielass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Northamptonshire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We have now just had out third stay here and we brought friends with us who loved it too. Brenda and Dave are always to hand but leave you to yourselves to enjoy the house and relax. Great (local produce)breakfasts with fish option(smoked salmon and scrambled egg is delicious). Wine list for eveningsby the woodburner in comy sofas. Spotless rooms, beds with memory foam toppers,localy made organic toiletries,pretty garden. Located by a river with parking & a 10 min walk to Ambleside,

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BeanandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed at Riverside for 4 nights at the end of September. What a find! The Hotel is in a beautful setting with the fells right behind and the river running by the the lane past the front door. Plenty of parking space.The bedroom was clean and had a fantastic 'super king size' bed and walk in shower.The owners are extemely welcoming & friendly ,happily drying wet gear and providing daily weather reports or advising on good walks or places of interest.
Breakfast is superb!! Loads of choice and all freshly prepared,including a different home made bread every day. Lots of nice touches.
Only 10 minute walk in to town with lots of restaurants and shops.
We are going back next year and would highly recommend the Hotel for a stay in the Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Nothing new can be said really. Brenda and Dave are wonderful hosts. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The position near Ambleside unrivalled, and the breakfasts a fantastic start to the day. Best B & B that we have stayed in.

Sue and Jim

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Just returned from our third visit to the Riverside and hopefully won't be the last. A lovely place to stay, great location, 10 minute riverside stroll into Ambleside. Hosts David & Brenda make you feel so welcome. Breakfasts are brilliant, lots of extra touches, like home-made damson jam and a different home-made bread each morning. Thanks for another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, Ches
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2009

By accident you have found the best place to stay in Ambleside (In fact the Lake District) All rooms are to a very high standard, the breakfast can't be betten by any 5* Hotel & beleave me I've stayed in a lot, your hosts Brenda & David can't do enough to help & assist you. Take my advice shown in the Title review.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbieNorthwich_Ches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Property: Riverside B&B
Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing