We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly fantastic stay”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #2 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed at Riverside after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and can say that everything said about this fantastic Bed and Breakfast is true.
David and Brenda are so friendly and very attentive to your every need, the location is superb and the house itself is very traditional and homely, however it still manages to keep up with the times with flat screen televisions in your room, and wi fi internet access if you feel inclined to use it.
The location of the house is ideal, both for Ambleside only a 10 minute walk to the centre, and also an abundance of walks in and around the area, and It has ample parking at the front of the house so you never need to worry about finding a parking space.
Breakfast at Riverside is a real treat and comes with a choice of cereal, mixed toast including home made bread, porridge fruit etc, and thats before you have your cooked breakfast which i hasten to add is always cooked to perfection by Brenda.
But inspite of all the above its the little things that really makes Riverside stand out from other B and B's such as David and Brenda's hospitallity, the fact that no matter where you are in the house it always feels like home, the lit fire of a night in the cosy lounge, the candles around the house and the lanterns leading down the steps that are lit of a night i could go on..........But why not try it for yourselves i promise you will not regret a stay at Riverside.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesiGrinnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2009

We celebrated my husbands 70th birthday with a 3 day break at Riverside Hotel. This was one of many stays there. It just gets better & better. The weather was typical autumn weather wet & a bit chilly but the welcome we received from Brenda & Dave was warm and friendly. Other reviewers have said it all. This is a great place to stay. The breakfast is to die for. In fact they have been awarded by the AA Excellence in Breakfast as well as many others. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stillico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Wonderful, friendly hosts who made us feel like old friends, despite this being our first stay at Riverside. We have visited the Lake District many times over the years and have stayed in everything from 5 star hotels to self-catering cottages. This was the simply best experience and I can't see us staying anywhere else in the future. Truly excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeYNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The Riverside is the best you could ever wish for in a hotel. The rooms are of the highest standard of decor, comfort and hospitality and Dave and Brenda are the perfect hosts. Forget the car - many delightful walks start at the front door.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brithel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed here for a 4 night break in the four poster room. Really tastefully decorated, fresh and clean. We appreciated the armchairs to sit and watch the t.v, Room was quite spacious and the sound of the river was soothing. The Hotel was perfectly situated away from the bustle of Ambleside and a pleasant walk into the town centre. You're made very welcome by hosts and food was excellent. I especially liked the home made bread. This is the best place i have stayed in in the Lakes and i won't hesitate to go back for my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Comfortable, quiet,excellent breakfast and welcoming hosts. Good location with easy walk in to Ambleside.Will be our 1st choice when we visit Ambleside again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We spent three wonderfull nights with friends at Riverside as a base for some superb walks.
David and Brenda made us feel like old friends as soon as we arrived and put quite simply couldnt do enough for us!
The room was perfectly clean ,furnished tastefully and had a suprb view out over the River Rothey.
Breakfast was a delight !
The best bit of all was the pleasing hug from Brenda when we left,we truly felt like we had made some wonderfull friends!
We look forward to returning many times in the future.

(My only hope is that too many people dont read this and we have trouble booking in the future!!!!!!!)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butch890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 102 in Ambleside
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#10 of 102 in Ambleside
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#4 of 102 in Ambleside
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £107 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing