We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #3 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Riverside was recommended to us by a friend and after reading Trip Advisor reviews we were really looking forward to our stay here. We weren't disappointed. This is a gem of a place and Dave and Brenda are the perfect hosts. It feels just like a home from home. We had the four poster room which was absolutely immaculate, warm and cosy. The breakfasts were delicious and Brendas home made bread should have its own award ! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riverside and are looking forward to our next stay. Well done Dave and Brenda, we think you're wonderful X

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed for a three night Spring break. Dave and Brenda are excellent hosts and we could not have been made more welcome.Brenda's breakfasts are superb We had "the wet room" which had a spacious, powerful shower.Despite all the rave reviews and awards their prices are very reasonable and competitive. It is great value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful three night break at the Riverside. This was our second stay with Brenda and Dave and we were made to feel like part of the family returning after an absence! You have read all the reviews, they are true and more. Our only regret is that we didn’t find this little gem of a place sooner and we have already booked our room for our next stay in August, and again in September!
On proud display in the reception hall is a press cutting from the local paper regarding the fact that The Riverside made No 9 in a list of B&Bs in the whole world! It set me to thinking if this is No 9 what can the other 8 be like. Well I presume that there is a B&B in heaven, I’m not sure I like the entry requirements though. I guess that Lillibet and Phil do a mean full English at Buckingham Palace but again I think we would struggle with the entry requirements as neither I nor Mrs K are visiting heads of state. And if you believe the advertising campaign then surely Carlsberg must do a B&B, if Carlsberg did a B&B then it would be the best etc etc. After that I am really struggling and the only thing I can suggest is that if you find a B&B better than the Riverside book it and let me know where it is!
Joking aside, Brenda and Dave have worked really hard to make this place work and you can tell, it’s all the little touches and attention to detail that make the difference. But the biggest assets at the Riverside are Brenda and Dave themselves!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrazaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Just returned from a 3-day break to the Riverside Hotel. It was our third visit and really there is not much one can say other than that everything was just perfect (including the weather). Dave and Brenda are always so friendly and helpful, the standard of accommodation is first class and the breakfasts are 'to die for''. Now that we have found Riverside Hotel we would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satyagrahaLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed at the Riverside because of it's rave ratings on tripadvisor and were therefore expecting a very high standard. We were not disappointed.
What makes this place so special are the hosts Dave and Brenda who just get everything so right - from taking your booking on the phone to waving you goodbye at the end of your stay. Attention to detail is their key strength and it is the little touches all around you during your stay that make the difference.
I have never had a better breakfast anywhere in the World and it is served with a smile.
The room we stayed in (room 3) was large, clean and had a large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room kept warm.
The guests' lounge was also very comfortable with a log burning stove and an extensive library of books, DVD's and local tourist information.
We will certainly be coming back in the not too distant future and are looking forward to it already.

John & Mandy.
Skipton

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpennyBD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

This was our 3rd visit to the Riverside in Ambleside and every time Brenda and Dave have been the perfect hosts. The rooms are always comfertable and clean, while the breakfasts are fresh and locally produced. Ever since our first visit we have compared all guest houses to the Riverside and we've not found a better one yet.

We love the location, it's lovely and peaceful and within walking distance to the bars and restaurants in Ambleside. There are also some amazing walks on the doorstep, which Brenda and Dave will offer advice and maps if your new to the area.

We haven't had a bad or average stay at the Riverside and we are already trying to work out when we can next return.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_Carol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We had two nights in the wonderful four poster room overlooking the river. Great breakfast and very welcoming hosts. Would really recommend it. Great location as just away from the main town, but everyhting is walkable. Particularly useful for walking off dinner in one of the abundant restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauleast77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 102 in Ambleside
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#1 of 102 in Ambleside
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
3.9 mi away
Walker Ground Manor
Walker Ground Manor
#1 of 23 in Hawkshead
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £104 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside B&B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing