We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attention to detail and friendly with it”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire lass
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail and friendly with it”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent 2 days here on a Secret Escapes visit, and it was just lovely. The weather left a fair bit to be be desired, but the hotel was so welcoming that you felt wrapped in a comfort blanket. The food was fabulous and not excessive, and beautifully presented. The breakfast was served, not a buffet, and on the second morning, the lady who served us remembered what we had had the first morning, honey, ketchup etc, and just brought them. The choice at breakfast was lovely, including kidney, apple and all the other usual items. I as usual, had the full english breakfast, but my husband had the finnan haddock and said it was just perfect. However, if you have booked for a three course meal in the evening, and you have the sorbet or soup between the starter and the main course, , it will cost extra. This is pointed out on the menu, but I didn't notice. However the courgette and asparagus soup was worth every penny! There is plenty of space between tables, you don't feel squeezed in.
Th rooms were spotless, with a lovely bed, good lighting, good information, free wi-fi which worked and very adequate TV. All in all we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thanks for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    125
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
108
344
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
376 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

We had a family weekend with 20 people and we had our own dining room and lounge. The food was excellent and the staff could not be more attentive. We had small children with us and we were always made to feel welcome. Thanks for making my birthday weekend very special.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We are very happy you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us, please do come and stay again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have stayed here many times and it is a very comfortable, friendly hotel with very good food. The staff are helpful and friendly. It is great for a few days in the Lake District.
If you are lucky and the sunshines, drinks in the beatiful gardens are a really bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We celebrated a family birthday here and found the hotel excellent for this. It is well set up for young children, including a separate section of the dining room for famiies.The staff are friendly and accommodating and the service excellent. The food is good rather than outstanding, however the breakfast scrambled eggs are delicious.

We stayed in the Wansfell Suite, which was very comfortable adn spacious. The shower is superb! Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your review, we are happy you and your family had an enjoyable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

having read al the reviews went with an open mind went with wife and good friends weather was lovely as was the hotel and grounds . Got in early and had to wait as they have a system where if you book first your served first. Made it better as you didnt have to queue the sandwiches were lovely and fresh and you could go back as many times as you like .they also had sausage on sticks savoury slice and frittata.all delicious . But the icing on the cake pardon the pun was the traybakes scones tealoafs cakes etc etc all home made plus unlimited tea or filter coffee .this place is a secret i am reluctant too share .if you go you will not be dissapointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonlinrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Glad you enjoyed your afternoon with us, please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We've returned home today after a 3 night stay at the Rothay Manor Hotel. We had booked for 2 nights, we spent these in room 14; we wanted to extend our stay by one night because we were enjoying ourselves so much, even though it hardly stopped raining. We spent the extra night in room 6. Both rooms were extremely comfortable, very well furnished and with powerful showers. This is very important to my husband and I because we have a power shower at home, and miss it when we're away on holiday. Room 14 was our favourite. It's on the ground floor, at the side of the hotel. It has a private terrace in a lovely little garden. Room 6 was on the first floor at the front of the hotel. This room had a balcony with table and chairs.

The food was out of this world. It would be too difficult to pick out a favourite meal. We see somebody has written that they thought the food was expensive; we have to disagree. We think it was excellent value for money. The Sunday we were there, the hotel was fully booked for lunch and for afternoon tea.

The staff were, without exception, very professional and helpful. They made sure everything was to our satisfaction without fawning over us.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Premium room 14 was fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandJean2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Thanks for your fabulous review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Myself and my husband were very fortunate in taking afternoon tea at the Hotel. There was a lovely selection of freshly made sandwiches and savoury treats to start with and then a good assortment of lovely old fashioned home made cakes. The tea (many blends to choose from) was served and we were asked if we would like a fresh pot without any prompting from us. in fact we were encouraged to keep filling up our plates as many times as we liked. The staff were courteous and polite and nothing was too much trouble. If you are in the area treat yourself you won't be disappointed, in fact you will be pleasantly surprised.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melrosefozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed yopuir afternoon tea with us and hope you will spread the word of how good it was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
468 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing