We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently top quality”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My wife and I had our second stay at the Rothay Manor 5/7th December and were delighted to find that it gave the same exceptional service and quality that we enjoyed on our previous visit two years ago. Quality, well trained and helpful staff, two exceptonally good dinners and a lovely homely feel to this family run hotel. Would definitely get a Five Star award if it had a pool and leisure facilities.
On our return after a very wet walk our outdoor wear and boots were taken to the drying room for us and made ready for the next day..................that does not happen everywhere!!
Room 3, at the front overlooking the lawn (a mirror image of Room 2) was lovely, well presented and extremely comfortable.
Ideal situation for walking into Ambleside or to the lake, or straight onto Loughrigg Fell, one of the lovliest low level walks in the Lakes.
Can`t wait for our next visit!!. Value rating based on a deal we had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djr39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

We received a very friendly welcome here and the staff were pleasant and efficient in all areas of the hotel. The 2 bedroom Fairfield Suite was well designed and spacious, although the 2nd bedroom is really only suitable for children. Some things are a little tired around the edges, but not enough to spoil the stay. 4 free bottles of water was a nice touch. Breakfast was ample and good, and it was nice to have it included in the room rate.

We walked the 5-10 minutes into Ambleside for dinner rather than eat in the hotel, where one course was £23.50. I would stay here again, although I did consider it expensive at £195 for the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britsinindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 day special offer break from one of the deal companies. My wife and I have never enjoyed such a nice hotel before. Our roomdid enjoy a view of a wall BUT it was a beautifully appointed room with king size bed all the usual trappings but done to a very high standard and as I was getting a good deal price wise I certainly didn't expect a view of the hills!. Downstairs there are two very comfortable lounges with very comfy sofas and armchairs, one lounge also had a roaring fire - lovely to sit in if the weather had been bad (we had two glorious days of cloudless skies) The meals were absolutely first class as was the service from the excellent waiters (no I'm not being paid by the management) The grounds around the hotel are lovely and all in all I honestly can't think of anything bad to say about our whole stay It's just a short walk into Ambleside but I noted that if you needed to park there (not easy) then the hotel have a special pass you can request. Summing up, this hotel was the nicest one I've stayed in and special offers permitting we'll be back !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Rothay Manor, glad you enjoyed it, please do come again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We were looking for a venue for a family celebration the party consisting of myself, husband, daughter, son-in-law and nine moth old granddaughter.We wanted somewhere where we could enjoy a relaxing meal whilst our granddaughter slept in her own room close by. A friend of my daughter recommended we try Rothay Manor as she had stayed with her young daughter and family too.I contacted the hotel, the reception were wonderful in organising us to have the 2 adjoining suites Wansfell and Loughrigg and we could have dinner served in the larger suite.We had the most marvellous time, our granddaughter went to bed and slept peacefully whilst we enjoyed a private party served perfectly by the excellent staff. We were totally relaxed and the great thing was we could eat at our own pace and just rang when we were ready for the next course.We took breakfast in the main dining room in the morning and this again was very enjoyable. The suites are very well appointed and comfortable,a travel cot had been provided and a request for a high chair was dealt with immediately.They are only a few steps away from the main hotel and have their own private parking outside. A big thank you must go to all the staff especially the guys who served the dinner for making this a memorable occasion for us.We don't live very far away so hope to be back again in the future and would certainly recommend to all.

Room Tip: We thought the suites well worth the extra and ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sagittarian_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

In every way the people at Rothay Manor go out of their way to make the hotel warm, friendly,immaculately presented and with an excellent restaurant. Well positioned 5 mins walk from the lovely town of Ambleside and the north shore of stunning Lake Windermere.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Afternoon tea was just the best. Super sandwiches, tasty little canape type things, Cumberland sausage and sweet stuff too (which doesn't interest me so much). The setting is a classy but classic hotel, comfy sofas and the papers to peruse. The service was attentive (almost but, but not quite to the point of being intrusive).
A typically English experience which I would put on a par with breakfast in Fortnums and Masons. Both heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billiam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed with my Wife in the Wansfell suite in the hotel grounds. The suites are worth the extra i mwould say with their own parking for easy un/loading. Its self contained with a seperate sitting room which is most welcome after a hard days hiking (tea, fridge and biscuits provided as well fluffy bathrobes). The location is 5 minutes walk into Ambleside if you want to visit a restaurant or pub (there are a few good ones). Also you can walk straight out the hotel into a number of well known fell walks......so location is great and peaceful. Now onto the breakfasts......Oh My word, if you are a big english breakfast fan you are not going to be disapointed here. The staff, service and quality is just fantastic. We stayed three nights so sampled the Full English, Salmon and scrambled eggs and also the smoked kippers.....fantastic and well fueled for a good days hiking! can't think of a downside to this hotel apart from the other residents tend to be in their senior years, but really the pubs/ambleside are just up the road to give you a little life!. Don't let that put you off though, it really is good.

Room Tip: The Wansfell Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBarbers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £143 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing