We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just an evening meal.”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“just an evening meal.”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

1st class service all round. Food quality excellent as was the choice. Dealing with my wife's foods allergy was done with utmost care (more than can be said of many other restaurants in the U.K.).
Great evening dining with friends. Not the cheapest but QUALITY is what you pay for and what we got.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Big-Fishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am very happy you and your party had an enjoyable evening and hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    127
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
109
353
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Have just returned from afternoon tea at Rothay Manor as a birthday treat for a wheelchair bound elderly relative. From our arrival the attention was exceptional. The food selection was wonderful, fresh and ample as was the tea andcoffee choice. As others have commented, the cling film over the sandwiches was a bit of a disappointment but no major problem. We had asked if a birthday cake could be provided and this duly arrived, chocolate sponge and nicely decorated and to our surprise not charged as an extra on the bill! Thank you Rothay I am sure we will be back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The standard of accommodation is excellent. The location is a five minute walk from the centre of Ambleside or similar distance to the Ambleside ferry terminal.

The food is first class with good selection of wines from house wines £19 per bottle to fine wines.

Free use of Leisure facilities at the Salutation Hotel (centre of Ambleside) which are excellent, gym, pool, sauna, steam room and outdoor hot tub. Towels and locker key available from Rothay Manor, just ask at reception

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunset_LoversLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here 14th and 15th Feb 2013. The staff at the Rothay are welcoming, friendly and efficient; the service is very good. The room allocated to us was pleasant and comfortable and cleaned and tidied each morning before we returned from an excellent breakfast. The dining room is a little on the drab side and lacks ambiance somewhat but the food and service in it is of a very hight standard so don't be tempted to go in search of a restaurant as you won't find better food. The only slight niggle ( my partner's) is that eggs benedict wasn't on the breakfast menu but you can' have everything! We will be very happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MantineaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is our second visit to the Rothay Manor, and hope it won't be our last.
Last January we visited with friends and they to were delighted with our choice. This year just two of us booked in February.
We were delighted to find that it was just as warm and friendly as last year and the food is amazing, both at Breakfast and for your Evening meal. Many thanks to Jane the Chef again.
The Rothay is situated at the top end of Ambleside, it is only small in size but has an old world charm about it.
The rooms are very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The staff were all very nice and welcoming.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Last year we were staying with friends so booked a suite which was located on the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue_ken10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Husband and I had afternoon tea here last week. Rothay Manor is alovely small hotel in Ambleside, When you walk in you are warmly welcomed, then told to get comfy in one of the small rooms, which are beautifully appointed, just like sitting in a lovely sitting room. The waitress will come and take your order from the wide range of tea's. Then you help yourself to the buffet tea, lovely very nicely made sandwiches of various fillings(also choices for vegetarions Home made scones, delicious home made rasberry jam and ofcourse not forgetting the cream for you scone, lovely home made fruit cake, meringues, strawberry tarts, pork pies. and coffe cake to die for.! Every thing is home made. We have been here many times before, they dont always have the coffe cake on, sometimes it's home made chocolate cake!!! We had alovely afternoon, we had alittle anniversary, spoilt only by two women who thought that we ought to be listening to their conversation, which reveiled among other things that they were teacher's. WHY do people think that you want to listen to their conversation? I suggested to my husband that we move to another room,. Anyway back to tea, you will be asked if you would like more tea, all served on, in, lovely crockery, and you can eat as much as you can. Try the Ladie's loo's, they are lovely with hand cream, and small white towels and fresh flowers

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byrness
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just got back from a very nice relaxing weekend at the Rothay Manor the staff were very helpful,friendly and attentive. The spacious rooms were clean and comfortable and the food delicious we would recomend this hotel to anyone.We had a standard room but it was far better than the deluxe rooms at most hotels.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor room but we saw into others and they all seemed beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0restView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing