We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, charming hotel stay.”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The owners of the Rothay Manor have honed hotel management skills to perfection. We loved the attention to detail, the wonderful hospitality skills, and unforced friendliness of staff, and the traditional values at this hotel which has modern, up to date features. A bonus is the link with a neighbouring establishment so that guests may use the spa/pool facilities. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent. We appreciated the free WiFi. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a superior room (Room 6) which was spacious, with a balcony, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bewildered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

A second very enjoyable mini-break at the Rothay Manor Hotel, very comfortable, with friendly, professional staff . Nothing seems too much trouble for the staff (even bringing our delicious cumbrian breakfast across in the snow!) and the Loughrigg Lodge has wheelchair access and parking at the door which means that we can bring our elderly relative on holiday with us knowing that we have our own little suite in the grounds but the facilities of the hotel just across the drive. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Loughrigg Lodge has wheelchair access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just enjoyed a 2 night break at the Rothay Manor, could not fault it, food excellent, really nice welcome & check in, paid extra for a superior room & yes it was well worth it, huge room and nice big balcony, all the staff were very friendly, obviously well trained, the management team run a well organised team. we hope to return soon

Room Tip: well worth paying foe a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We visited for the weekend with family. We all felt happy with our rooms especially those overlooking the garden. The bathroom in the room at the back needed a little t.l.c.

The two small lounges are really comfortable, however agree with a previous reviewer that the dining rooms need updating. However they are very nicely set out.

Our food I.e. breakfast and evening meals on both days were excellent. The food was of excellent quality and beautifully presented. There were a lovely selection of dishes to choose. No complaints from any of us. There was a nice cooked breakfast menu, however, I do not always want a cooked breakfast and thought that perhaps some bread rolls and ham/cheese would be nice.

The wine list was very good and reasonably priced. The house wines were very pleasant. The prosecco too.

We enjoyed a nice walk along the river into Ambleside from the hotel.

We all really enjoyed our weekend and look forward to returning soon.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here a couple of years ago for 2 nights, we really enjoyed our stay - so this time booked an extra night. Lovely room, great food. Staff friendly and efficient. Tried to book for one Saturday night in April, as a special treat on our way back to Wiltshire from Scotland, but sadly they don't take single night bookings on Saturday nights. Sad as we can't afford the necessary time off work to stay longer - or we certainly would!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

1st class service all round. Food quality excellent as was the choice. Dealing with my wife's foods allergy was done with utmost care (more than can be said of many other restaurants in the U.K.).
Great evening dining with friends. Not the cheapest but QUALITY is what you pay for and what we got.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Big-Fishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMHotel, Manager at Rothay Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am very happy you and your party had an enjoyable evening and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Have just returned from afternoon tea at Rothay Manor as a birthday treat for a wheelchair bound elderly relative. From our arrival the attention was exceptional. The food selection was wonderful, fresh and ample as was the tea andcoffee choice. As others have commented, the cling film over the sandwiches was a bit of a disappointment but no major problem. We had asked if a birthday cake could be provided and this duly arrived, chocolate sponge and nicely decorated and to our surprise not charged as an extra on the bill! Thank you Rothay I am sure we will be back.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank FionaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,238 reviews
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £138 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing