We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY STAY”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAY”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 2 night Dinner Bed &Breakfast, in the Ground Floor room.A Spacious well furnished room, with a seating area, containing a comfy 2 seater settee, and an armchair with nest of tables. The Bathroom, was superb, actually more of a wet room, huge shower, his n her basins, and shower caps/hand cream/allsorts of goodies. Bottles of water, Tea and coffee tray, with 2 biscuits
.Large comfy bed, and also a single too. Dinner that night was really nice, the waitress, offered to bring our coffee tray into our room, which we really appreciated, we were able to sit and enjoy our drinks. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were very helpful. We had eaten so much the night before, we couldn't face a full Breakfast, just tea/coffee and toast!.
The second night we were careful what we chose, so we could enjoy our Breakfast the next morning.
We enjoyed our stay so much, that we are going again in April for 5 nights. Cant wait.
Unfortunatly we didn't take our camera, but will next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxorJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    128
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
111
358
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milnthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me, my wife and another couple went to Rothay Manor Hotel for lunch. We were very impressed with the decor and the cleanliness of the hotel. The lounge was beautifully decorated and the seating very comfortable. The food was perfectly cooked and was served very efficiently by the waiter. I would not hesitate to return here as the experience was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Excellent independent hotel in Ambleside, lake District.
Food excellent quality along with service.
Room was a Superior with plenty of room (bath and shower), with outside balcony.
Nice peaceful stay within easy reach of Grasmere, Elterwater and Windermere (for walking and sights)

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superiror roo overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South shields
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were not staying at this lovely hotel,but having read reports of their legendary afternoon tea,we decided to partake! We were not disappointed,and the reports were not exaggerated! We have never had a buffet tea before,sitting in the elegant lounge,and going to the adjacent dining room to be confronted by tables laden with every kind of home-made tea- time goody,which you can visit as many times as you wish,as the very attentive staff keep replenishing the platters!! An excellent way to spend an afternoon,and all for £15!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretJ98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Have stayed at quite a few Hotels in the Lake District for short breaks and with a dinner bed and breakfast deal this is one of the best. Located 10 min walk from Ambleside town centre and also about the same to the lake steamer pier the hotel sits in attractive grounds and has plenty of parking. Internally the public rooms have been nicely refurbished whilst retaining original period features. We stayed in a superior room (1) which was well equipped, large and comfortable with a sizeable bathroom and a great balcony overlooking the grounds. Food throughout our stay was cooked to order, great quality and beautifully presented. Welcome on arrival was warm and dining room service excellent. Hard to fault really - some might find the smart casual dress suggestion for dinner a little old fashioned but frankly the experience merited it and families were warmly welcomed and seemed to enjoy it. Also free leisure facilities - lovely pool, sauna, Canadian Hot Tub - are at another hotel in town, but they are excellent and well worth the short walk.
Overall a great choice and would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Superior rooms at the front of the hotel are not much more expensive and worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandLPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

First stay at this beautiful hotel, but I know for definite it will not be our last.
From arriving at the hotel, the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and this would also extend to the booking of the hotel, because we had to change our travel arrangement twice and the staff could have not have been more helpful.
We stayed in room 3, which had a lovely balcony and the comfy bed was huge, the room very spacious and welcoming.
Now the food - evening meal was beautiful, stunning food worthy of 10 stars, every course was just devine. Breakfast choices excellent and cooked to perfection.
A very much added bonus was the leisure/pool/spa that was available complimentary, around a ten minute walk into the centre of Ambleside is where this facility is available.
We enjoyed every single minute of our stay and looking forward to planning when we can go back, next time, I am going to order nicer weather though.
Thank You - to every single member of staff, you are a credit to this beautiful hotel

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is a little extra, but well worth the small extra charge. Room No. 3 was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wednesday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbry
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've recently visited Rothay manor for the third time and once again enjoyed every minute of our stay. We stayed in Room 1 this time, not quite as nice as Room 4 which has been our favourite so far. The room is spacious, bed very comfortable and the bathroom huge.
The staff are friendly and efficient, and the food delicious. We stayed from Saturday until Tuesday and the only little niggle was that 2 of the dishes I requested from the dinner menu on Monday evening had run out!
Really good value - We're already looking forward to another visit!

Room Tip: Superior rooms at the front of the hotel have lovely balconies, and are comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing