We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rothay Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
440
144
45
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
144
45
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasconescoffee and petit foursloughrigg suitedrawing roomtasting menusilver servicesuperior roomnew ownersamuse boucheoverlooking the gardenlake districtpublic roomsbreakfast and dinnerlambwalk in showerlovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were delighted to spend 3 night Dinner, Bed & breakfast at this lovely hotel. The booking was taken in a very friendly & welcoming way by both Janice & Elaine. We stayed in room 14 which was spacious, beautifully decorated with sofa & chairs & a huge comfy bed. Great bathroom with walk in shower. Lovely toiletries provided. Tea & coffee with biscuits & bottles of water provided .The bed linen changed daily & room kept very clean.
The restaurant was smart & all the staff were excellent. Thanks for great service from Chris, Nina & Maxina who were helpful, efficient & friendly. The food was superb on all three evenings & breakfast provided a huge choice of splendid food. Location was ideal in a peaceful setting being a short lovely walk into centre of Ambleside.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 with which was large with a patio, smart & peaceful would chose again. Room is on lower ground floor with access down a few stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guardian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked afternoon tea at The Rothay Manor as part of our family celebrations for my Mothers 80th Birthday. I had pre booked two vegetarian platters and I was aware that it was a buffet style tea when I made the booking so that is not the issue. After selecting our choice of teas and coffee a waiter brought out the two platters, plonked them on the very cramped table said, enjoy your food and left. We sat for a little while wondering if the other platters would be brought to our table. My son went for a wander and found some other sandwiches in an adjoining room which we presumed were ours to choose from. To be brutally honest I have seen better presented sandwiches at a children's playschool picnic. I would have expected a little more effort than to have them cut into bait box style triangles, stacked up on cafeteria style plastic covered trays. In our opinion the sandwiches were totally unappetising and not up to standard. There was a very sorry selection of sliced up sausages and mini scotch eggs along side empty trays that had not been replenished. It said on the web site that you could revisit the buffet as many times as you liked but to be honest, once was enough.
We thought that the sweet treats would make up for the poor start, unfortunately this was not the case. Several cake stands were dotted around a small table, with sad bite sized portions under plastic covers. Mini very dry scones with hard butter and extremely watery jam were also on this table, however the clotted cream was on another table that we completely missed. Many of the trays had nothing on at all. When questioned the waiter said they were very busy and only had two members of staff working. Not good enough!!!! Very disappointing especially as it was booked for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennie-wwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After many stays in Bowness we decided this time to try Ambleside, a town that every Lake lover has driven through many times and I think most of them were driving through on the weekend of 7th/8th March!
The hotel is located on the edge of the town, fairly quiet and 10 minutes walk to the centre. Like a lot of Lakes hotels it's very old but well maintained, we had a rather cramped room (9), with only one chair in a corner, not facing the TV, the bed was large and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well fitted out, the shower was excellent.
The quality of food and the choice was excellent and the service in the restaurant faultless, the breakfast mega!.
We had our coffee in the lounge but really should have stayed in the restaurant, there was a distinct lack of ambiance in the room, maybe hanging some curtains over the bare windows and putting the the fire on would help.
A few negatives but overall we enjoyed our stay but I'm afraid next time it's back to Bowness for us!

Room Tip: avoid room 9
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolyatevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 2 night Dinner Bed &Breakfast, in the Ground Floor room.A Spacious well furnished room, with a seating area, containing a comfy 2 seater settee, and an armchair with nest of tables. The Bathroom, was superb, actually more of a wet room, huge shower, his n her basins, and shower caps/hand cream/allsorts of goodies. Bottles of water, Tea and coffee tray, with 2 biscuits
.Large comfy bed, and also a single too. Dinner that night was really nice, the waitress, offered to bring our coffee tray into our room, which we really appreciated, we were able to sit and enjoy our drinks. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were very helpful. We had eaten so much the night before, we couldn't face a full Breakfast, just tea/coffee and toast!.
The second night we were careful what we chose, so we could enjoy our Breakfast the next morning.
We enjoyed our stay so much, that we are going again in April for 5 nights. Cant wait.
Unfortunatly we didn't take our camera, but will next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxorJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me, my wife and another couple went to Rothay Manor Hotel for lunch. We were very impressed with the decor and the cleanliness of the hotel. The lounge was beautifully decorated and the seating very comfortable. The food was perfectly cooked and was served very efficiently by the waiter. I would not hesitate to return here as the experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews