We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of old-style hotel accomodation”
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A taste of old-style hotel accomodation”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Atmospheric, warm and comfortable - possibly more suited to golden couples than families with young children. A little like something out of an Agatha Christie novel - but no Miss Marple when we stayed !

The hotel and staff know what they do well and they stick to it, so no innovations in boutique style or elaborate dining. If you're at home in the Lake District, you'll probably feel at home in the hotel. If you're looking Paris chic - not the style here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    126
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
109
352
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I booked afternoon tea and a nights stay for my mums birthday at the hotel. The reception on arrival was really friendly, as were all the staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable with everything provided, even things you wouldn't think of such as shoe shine kits! The afternoon tea was delicious and the variety was brilliant. The price of the afternoon tea was great, very good value for money. You can tell everything is handmade which just adds to the charm. The hotel provides complimentary use of the Salutation Hotel Gym and Pool facilities which added extra comfort and relaxation. The bar in the hotel offered a range of drinks for a good price, which could then be enjoyed in one of 2 lounges with sofas and chairs in a tranquil environment. The breakfast provided at the hotel was also delicious with another large selection of food and it thoroughly deserves its rating for excellence. I would 100% recommend the hotel to others and will definitely be going for afternoon tea again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberTid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked over the phone for afternoon tea for a group of elderly ladies. We were not told that it was a buffet and that we would be sitting in armchairs at low tables. This proved difficult for those with mobility problems so we were re-seated in the restaurant. The tea itself was good- although we had to wait for sandwiches as other diners had served themselves quickly. The selection of cakes was super- very tasty. We felt that the restaurant was short-staffed which made service lacking in warmth. We also thought that the welcome and attention could have been friendlier, given the birthday occasion- it would have been nice to arrive and have cups, plates, serviettes and maybe flowers on a table.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Rothay Manor is such a tremendously relaxing place to be. It`s family owned and run - and it shows! The service is personal and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The afternoon teas are out of this world - to the extent that I found I was having to choose between afternoon tea or dinner - definitely beyond me to have both. The rooms are always spotless, and the dining room has been recently recarpeted and redecorated. The lounges are great places to relax. It really is a true country house experience - God willing we`ll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakerquaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Rothay Manor sits well in its grounds, even though construction works are on-going.
We had booked afternoon tea and were given a warm welcome on arrival then shown the "buffet tea" in the dining room. I must say we were a little disappointed with the standard of the sandwiches which were "simple and ordinary", and without imagination. Priced at £15 per head we expected better. The fabric of the building and furnishings look a little tired, and as with many properties of this type it requires some investment. Having said that, we would consider a further visit in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grahamtaitsporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is quite easy to find and is just slightly outside Ambleside. It is obviously a very popular hotel as the car park was full but an over flow car park provided plenty of space to park. On arrival the lady in Reception was very welcoming and showed us to our room which was a superior room on the first floor.

The room was beautiful! Nicely decorated, lovely large bed, comfy sofa, large screen television, telephone and there were french doors leading onto a little balcony complete with a lovey little table and two chairs - with a view of the fells to the left and the lovely garden to the front.

The bathroom was huge and included a walk in shower, large bath tub, toilet and wash basin all lovely and clean and with complimentary toiletries and huge fluffy towells.

The wardrobe was very spacious with lots of room and hangers to hang clothing and space to store suit cases. Also in the room was plenty of drawer space to put more clothes.

A hair dryer was provided as was tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, kettle, tea pot etc. There was plenty of reading material relative to the area on the little coffee table and as it was hot a fan was provided as no air conditioning in this hotel (beautiful building though - not sure if it is listed).

We booked a table for dinner and arrived to be shown to the drawing room whilst our table was being prepared. Whilst there a lovely barman brought our drinks and some complimentary canapes! Shortly after we were escorted to our table and our orders taken. The food is AMAZING!!! The service from the waiter and waitresses was perfect, they were so friendly and attentive and really impressed us.

There is a choice of breakfast, although I am sure that you can choose to have the continental as well as the cooked breakfast if you choose. The continental breakfast is set out buffet style and looked very appealing but we just had the cooked breakfast which was just as amazing as the dinner the night before. You can order what you like from the breakfast menu and I can certainly reccommend the Cumberland sausage - they are delicious!!!

You do not need to be a resident at the hotel to book a table for dinner or for afternoon tea.

The hotel is near Lake Windermere, and for those who would like to take a boat trip it is only a ten minute leisurely walk from the hotel to Waterhead where the boats depart. For those who prefer to take the car there is a small car park at Waterhead.

I could not fault this hotel on anything at all! The accomodation is excellent, the staff are also excellent and the area is so beautiful! I would definitely go back to Rothay Manor again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathjoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I visited Lake District with my husband this weekend. We booked a room in this hotel online.
The room provided was one of the last few in the hotel since it was a busy weekend.
The room had no view.
On Sunday morning after breakfast ( which was great ) we had gone for a walk. On our return to the room the housekeeping staff had made our beds but not cleaned the cups, the trash was not cleared and used tissues were also not picked up.
I noticed that 50 pounds were missing from my bag. When I raised this concern with the management staff they refused to accept that the money was missing.
This upset me because my complaint was not taken seriously.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller41062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing