We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went here for afternoon tea as we had been given the voucher as a gift. We would go again, the hotel was in lovely surroundings and the food, which consisted of sandwiches 3 different fillings, cakes with plentiful choices, and scones and butter, jam and cream. The tea was buffet style but nothing ran out, the tea itself had choices of different teas and coffees. Well worth a visit not the cheapest afternoon tea but well worth the price, we will go again definitely. Excellent choice of hotel if visiting the lakes. Ambleside itself is a lovely place not far from Windermere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seriouslysunseeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    121
    40
    11
    8
See reviews for
104
331
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a voucher for an afternoon tea and decided to use it in this warm, comfortable and rather old-style hotel. The service was efficient. We were seated in a room with several other tables - each with groups of people round them enjoying the tea. We were offered a menu with an excellent variety of teas which were served in old fashioned tea pots, with strainers - wonderful.
The food itself was a help yourself buffet served in another room - sandwiches, savouries, scones, pastries and cakes. All delicious.
If I have one constructive comment to make it would be that I would have preferred to have been brought a selection of things to eat to the table where we were sitting. This would have a) stopped me eating quiet so much! but more importantly b) would have negated the need to be constantly getting up and going through to the next room to help yourself to the next item from the buffet. It made it feel rather a disjointed and rushed affair and it was this that stopped it being a really first class and relaxing experience.
However I enjoyed it and would go again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Aside from the brilliant service and phenominal scenery, Rothay Manor exemplifies impeckable attention to detail! From the room to the food at dinner and everything in between, this hotel never ciezed to illustrate the right way to run a business. The rooms are very spacious and come with a porch! The food is excellent at the restaurant, but above all the lamb stands out (that's what I had and it is by far the best lamb I've had and in my top 15 favorite meals for sure). Furthermore I must say that everyone on staff I encountered was nice and eager to help. Overall this hotel made my trip to England and Scotland even better by offering something that many hotels struggle with nowadays: A since of being at home. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the whole of the England (other than London.) Just a once in a lifeime oppurtunity!

Room Tip: It's hard to go wrong with a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Atmospheric, warm and comfortable - possibly more suited to golden couples than families with young children. A little like something out of an Agatha Christie novel - but no Miss Marple when we stayed !

The hotel and staff know what they do well and they stick to it, so no innovations in boutique style or elaborate dining. If you're at home in the Lake District, you'll probably feel at home in the hotel. If you're looking Paris chic - not the style here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I booked afternoon tea and a nights stay for my mums birthday at the hotel. The reception on arrival was really friendly, as were all the staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable with everything provided, even things you wouldn't think of such as shoe shine kits! The afternoon tea was delicious and the variety was brilliant. The price of the afternoon tea was great, very good value for money. You can tell everything is handmade which just adds to the charm. The hotel provides complimentary use of the Salutation Hotel Gym and Pool facilities which added extra comfort and relaxation. The bar in the hotel offered a range of drinks for a good price, which could then be enjoyed in one of 2 lounges with sofas and chairs in a tranquil environment. The breakfast provided at the hotel was also delicious with another large selection of food and it thoroughly deserves its rating for excellence. I would 100% recommend the hotel to others and will definitely be going for afternoon tea again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberTid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We booked over the phone for afternoon tea for a group of elderly ladies. We were not told that it was a buffet and that we would be sitting in armchairs at low tables. This proved difficult for those with mobility problems so we were re-seated in the restaurant. The tea itself was good- although we had to wait for sandwiches as other diners had served themselves quickly. The selection of cakes was super- very tasty. We felt that the restaurant was short-staffed which made service lacking in warmth. We also thought that the welcome and attention could have been friendlier, given the birthday occasion- it would have been nice to arrive and have cups, plates, serviettes and maybe flowers on a table.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Rothay Manor is such a tremendously relaxing place to be. It`s family owned and run - and it shows! The service is personal and friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. The afternoon teas are out of this world - to the extent that I found I was having to choose between afternoon tea or dinner - definitely beyond me to have both. The rooms are always spotless, and the dining room has been recently recarpeted and redecorated. The lounges are great places to relax. It really is a true country house experience - God willing we`ll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakerquaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rothay Manor Hotel & Fine Dining, recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting. There are 19 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, award-winning 2 AA rosette fine dining restaurant and outstanding service. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing