We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible stay except for Pete” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rothay Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rothay Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Blundellsands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible stay except for Pete”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We checked in late on a Friday evening and received a warm welcome off Pete who couldn't do enough for us.

Pete told us our standard room had been double booked but informed us we had been allocated a superior room instead! Don't know what is superior about two single beds being pushed together. The room was chintzy and and a throw back from the 70's. We regret not packing our paisley and flares.

On inspection of the room we were horrified to find human waste splattered all over the toilet. I spent the first 20 minutes of my stay cleaning the toilet. We did not complain to Pete because he had been very nice to us and he had stayed 15 mins late to check us in and show us to our room.

The breakfast was enjoyable and the staff were once again helpful.

Sunday morning we went down for breakfast and left our room locked and secure as we had valubles in the room. We had started to pack and had left clothes and cases on the bed but were startled to find someone had been into the room and open the balcony door wide open. The bed had been made and our new clothes that we had bought over the weekend had just thrown all over the floor by the maid.

Check out was not until 12pm and we felt as though we were being pushed out.

My partner went down to raise this matter and was told sorry by the lady on reception. She did not seem bothered to here of the dirty bathroom and the fact someone had thrown our clothes all over the floor. She commented here is your bill.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SunnyBlundellsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    118
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
100
318
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

Quite a costly break, but better than the usual Cumbrian 'hospitality' so on balance I think it is worth paying. They do good service, the food is palatable, there is a calm atmosphere, and in the evening they served us with free tea and coffee and petit fours after a wild night out in Ambleside. It felt like being entertained by one's elderly in-laws. But I like that sometimes.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CallmeBubblesdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

We have stayed in & around Ambleside many times over the past 20 years, but this was our first stay at the Rothay Manor Hotel. Despite being very close to the centre of town, the hotel enjoys a feeling of seclusion, set in it's own grounds/ garden. We had expected the hotel to be a little staid & formal, but to our surprise, the ambieance was relaxed, friendly & extremely welcoming of us & our two young children (5 & 3).

We stayed in the Fairfield Suite, as a treat before Christmas & our expectations of the room were exceeded - a rare experience for us. Not only was it very spacious, but it appeared to have been recently refurbished, to the highest standards & taste. The children had their own twin bedded room adjoining a large living area; with sofa & chairs, table & large flat screen TV, with DVD player. Our bedroom was very large & spacious, with luxurious & beautiful furnishings. Finally, the bathroom was in keeping with the rest of the suite, with a large double ended bath & double shower.

We stayed on a B&B basis, so didn't experience the restaurant. The breakfasts, however, were exceptional - plenty of variety, including an excellent traditional Cumbrian grill, with local produce.

The staff were extremely courteous & attentive. All requests were met warmly & responded to quickly & efficiently.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mik3yJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

As Ambleside residents, we were hoping this Hotel would be somewhere we could add to our repitoire of wonderful Lakeland Country House Hotels we visit on a regular basis. We have lived here for 13 years and never been to Rothay Manor, we saw a special offer in our local paper and booked in for dinner on a Saturday night.

Everything went well until we were shown through to the dining room. We were shown to the table right outside the kitchen door, so very noisy and not exactly romantic for our Anniversary. The decor was very 80's but seemed clean enough if a little uninspiring. The starters of fish terrine (mine) and Fishcake (husband) were acceptable if a little dull.

Then came the main course a boiling cauldron of beef stew and a plate of red cabbage and parsnips. Mine was like a lava flow on the outside but still cold on the inside, the dumplings could have been used for curling they were so inedible and hard. Also, no potates of any kind, a real shame when you're having stew in our opinion. I called over the waitress and complained, she took it away but left my plate with all the cold stew I had decanted, I had to ask her to take it away.

To be fair to them, they did replace it but by that time my husband had finished the small amount he could eat . (This is someone who loves his food and always has a clean plate). I just wanted to go home and ate very little of it and felt it would be something we could do at home.

We came out to we wowwed and this certainly didn't do this. The dessert was average at best with aerosol cream all over it and we couldn't wait to leave. They offer tea and coffee in reception, but a more cheerless selection I have yet to see, if you wanted tea you had to order it and ther was no-one on reception to ask.

We finally spoke to the waiter who reduced our bill by the amount of the food and we were really happy to go home.

What a shame they are missing the local market but at this time they really can't compete.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tomfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Not bad - Not brilliant - so I guess it's mediocre. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with huge and very comfortable beds and armchairs. The general atmosphere when we stayed was that of a genteel old people's home.

There is a main road close by meaning some noise pollution if you have the windows or doors open. The bathrooms were excellent in size and provisions- however slightly let down by the disappointing output from the shower head.

Breakfast had plenty of variety but for an hotel selling itself on it's cusine it was not up to standard - cold sausage (obviously reheated) undercooked eggs - dry bacon but lots of toast and jam served!

All in all a nice enought hotel with nice rooms etc but pricey for what you get

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcc8172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed at the end of August for two nights having previously stayed about 3 year earlier. This time we found it a bit disappointing and not worth the money compared to many a similar hotel where you would get the same standard of room for about ¾ of the price if not less. We were asked if we wanted a morning paper and to our surprise it was added to the bill which we thought a bit mean as most hotels now give complimentary papers. We stayed in the Conservatory room which was a bit dark and not as big as we had expected. The toilet seat was loose and there was a bad smell from the drains at certain time, also the shower tray did not clear fast enough, all of which we reported at the time. Parts of the outside of the hotel are now in need of a good clean and paint before they start to deteriorate.
The breakfast was good and fresh. I only have egg and bacon and the first morning got two fried eggs and three rashers of bacon, however the second morning just one fried egg and two rashers of bacon. I know they would have given me more if I had asked but you shouldn’t have to do that.
Overall it is still a good hotel but I am afraid now it a bit expensive compared to what is around today and it is not what it was a few years back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PANDA5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This is a middle-of-the road hotel offering medium-good accommodation and food but at a price that is just a tad on the high side when compared with rates charged by similar hotels. Also be aware that the style and ambience are traditional rather than hip and are likely to appeal most to the older generation.

I was here as part of a family celebration (our party included an octogenarian and a nonagenarian) and the place fitted the bill perfectly. On the whole we all enjoyed our stay.

The greeting at reception was friendly and the check-in process was completed very efficiently – so top marks there. All the staff had a pleasant manner, were alway ready to help and coped well at all times, even when things were busy.

We only dined at the hotel once, but based on our experience that night I would say that the restaurant here surpasses the norm for provincial UK hotels, both in terms of service and food. Four good starters were followed by excellent fillet of beef, which was perfectly flavoured and tender. The only off-note in an otherwise very good meal was a stodgy bread and butter pudding that had become over dry in parts. Breakfast the following morning was excellent – the kidney served with the full grill was an unusual but good addition.

Just a few niggles. A “superior double” turned out to be no bigger than a standard double-room and was not worth the extra money. In fact, this superior room looked as though it had been refurbished on a tight budget – it still had an old-fashioned portable television with a screen the size of an OXO cube! Also one of our rooms had not been resupplied with toiletries, though this was quickly rectified when the mistake was pointed out.

Were it not for these niggles I would be happy to give the Rothay Manor four stars. But all in all this is not a bad hotel and one I’d be happy to recommend and return to myself, particularly when special offers are available.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedMeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothay Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Manor Hotel

Property: Rothay Manor Hotel
Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rothay Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rothay Manor Hotel & Restaurant offers a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere in a luxury country house setting, with large individually designed en-suite bedrooms, spacious comfortable lounges, delicious fresh food and outstanding service.We continue to maintain the standards and traditions that have kept the hotel a popular destination for over 45 years. Open for Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rothay Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Manor Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing