We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Bridge Restaurant at Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Ranked #79 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Oh dear.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Frankly, this place -based on our visit - is not really a restaurant at all. It is dated, lacks any atmosphere, and has a poor menu. We visited because of the location, and because it was convenient. Lesson learnt. The menu was poor, badly served, and we left before finishing the mains. We went home and had a lovely cheese sandwich made with fabulous bread from Chesters (next door) at our holiday cottage - it was delicious. The food is borderline school dinners, and very unimaginative. We gave them two chances to get the main course right (according to their own menu) before we called it a night. The waiting staff 'did their best', but I do not have a clue what the chef was up to. Really poor - the setting deserves so much more. I am sure the food in the pub next door MUST be better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Sadly, no hidden gem.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

First of all, it's worth saying that many TA reviews here are actually of The Talbot Bar which to my mind is definitely the better option (see separate review). On a walking holiday in The Lakes, one of our party was persuaded instead to book the set dinner in the restaurant. Things started badly and went downhill from there. On arrival (at the time we had booked) we were asked initially to sit outside the dining room which was strange since it was virtually empty. 'Outside' proved to be the hotel lobby and we were entertained by a stream of guests passing through to register, collect keys and chase errant infants.

Once seated, my initial impression was of staff who were pleasant and well-meaning but seemed over-stretched. More depressingly, the menu was written in the kind of pretentious language which invariably promises more than it can deliver. First courses included a small bowl of Botany Bay mussels, chicken liver pate and, in my case, English asparagus with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce. The asparagus itself was fine, although 3 spears seemed a meagre portion at the heart of the season, but the egg tasted of the vinegar in which it had been poached and the hollandaise sauce had split. The whole thing had the sheen of a dish that had sat too long on a hot plate before being served and my heart sank at what I thought would follow.

Main courses were again disappointing: plates had indeed been left too long under a heater with predictable consequences. My 'crisp sea bass' was overcooked and soggy, served on spatzle (noodles to you and me) with no hint of the oriental flavourings, including wasabi, which were promised. The bowl of mixed vegetables for the whole table included unseasoned cauliflower florets, discs of large carrots (the kind fed to horses down my way) and small cubes of roasted potatoes.

For dessert, which was offered after the 5 minute 'pause' suggested had got closer to 30, 3 of us opted for the vanilla cheesecake which had the over-sweetened textureless consistency of a cheap supermarket version and was swamped in a dark summer fruit compote. Coffee and mints were included in the £26.95 price which would have been reasonable value had the cooking been better.

I should add that the draught beer was good quality and well kept and, in fairness, that my less 'picky' friends enjoyed their meals more than I did mine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing bar service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We walked down from Elterwater for some lunch.. The bar was quiet, and as soon as I looked at the hand pumps Ken gave a full description of the three real ales (without taking breath) and then offered a sample of each. I chose the Marston's New World which I had not tried before. My fish and chips for lunch was terrific, well it was Friday! But it's the fantastic friendly and professional service from Ken and Richard that was really memorable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Broadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Lunch with family in Talbots Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We arrived at Talbots bar when it was sunny so all nine of us plus dog sat outside. The staff dealt with our GF questions as one of our group has to avoid gluten the bar staff and the chef were very helpful in ensuing she had a good variety of things to choose from. Then it started to rain, the staff helped us move inside where we were served all together with no delays and all the food was of a high standard and was very reasonably price. With drinks(more than one round0 and food for 9 it was below £150. We had a great time a great meal then had to set back off out in the rain !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed every thing we ate over our two night stay. The raisin sauce with duck breast was yummy, the home made ice cream really creamy, vegetable selection varied and well cooked and presented, hubby enjoyed his stuffed pork with amazing crackling. Do give this place a try but you may need to book at busy times so check to avoid disappointment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bridge Restaurant at Skelwith Bridge Hotel also viewed

Skelwith Bridge, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Bridge Restaurant at Skelwith Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing