We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean room and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for 1 night on 30th August. Room was spotless if a little small. Food for evening meal excellent. Cooked breakfast a bit literal - bacon and sausage meant 1 rasher and 1 sausage, where we often got a couple of each at other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crosseyed-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed in the New Dungeon Ghyll for a 2 night break. Great location for walking in the Langdales.
Room was comfortable if a bit tired in need of decoration. We had an evening meal, lamb shank, it took about an hour to arrive and was very bland - we expected better.
Breakfast was excellent
Overall for £100 per night we where a bit disapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymaker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Owner at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Thank you for your comment, i have looked into the situation about the bar meal and the time scale you had to wait, the printer was faulty in the kitchen and i hope this was explained to you, we pride ourselves on our home cooked food but mistakes can happen and I hope the refund on both meals was acceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Lovely location below the Langdale Pikes. Excellent restaurant and good rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is the hotel for our annual walking trip with friends. The location is absolutely superb and on a bright sunny day the views are almost unbeatable. Switzerland eat your heart out!

It is a great hotel for walking trips. A pint in the lounge after a 10 mile hike takes some beating and the food in the restaurant is very good with excellent service. All the staff are extremely friendly and efficient..

A cost of the remote location is that mobile 'phone reception is very poor, but there is wireless internet available in most rooms.

We normally have a superior room and, although our room on this occasion was clean and the views were great, the carpet and decor had seen better days, and we would pay the extra on our next visit.. The important point to note is that we will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheshireDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here for one night. My husband had booked it for me for a birthday treat - I had always wanted to stay here because of the location. We has the four poster room - the views from the bedroom were picture perfect, very clean hotel and the staff were lovely. The room was dated with cobwebs, peeling paint and the en-suite needed updating. Shabby Chic we said! The guests were all quite offish - no-one even acknowledged us... and we are quite presentable! Were they stuck up or half dead? The lounge was painfully silent so we retreated to the bar. The food was average - chips under-cooked even on asking for them to be redone. Would we go back - probably not... did we enjoy it - YES - just finishing a bottle of wine in the shadow of Pavey Ark and Side Pike was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chorleyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The mainly young staff were professional, friendly and helpful in spite of the pressures put on them by a glorious bank holiday weekend. The room was simply furnished, the bed comfortabl and the bathroom modern and with a large shower. The views from windows on two sides were stunning.

The location at the head of Great Langdale is among the best in England, and any number of fell walks of varying degrees of difficulty can be made from the hotel. Most of the guests seemed to be walkers.

Food in the restaurant was excellent, with the menu changing daily. The wine list is short and inexpensive, with a decent choice of wines by the glass. The bar, which is popular with hikers, serves food all day. There is a beer garden at the front of the hotel and a spacious garden for residents only at the rear.

Room Tip: Restaurant can get busy - book a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Branwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We recently stayed here for a three night break and were given a lovely modern room with great views over the valley. The hotel and gardens were clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly and efficient. We ate in the hotel two of the three nights. The food was very good and much better value than many of the other places we've eaten in the area. This hotel gives you the option of taking it easy, or making the most of the many walks etc in the area. For us it ticked all the boxes and we will return!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GordoTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,455 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £98 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing