We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Purpose!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fit for Purpose!!”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The location of the New Dungeon Ghyll is idyllic. The captive occupancy of walkers and climbers could expect an average experience but thats far from the case. The rooms are clean and adequate with fabulous showers and the views are priceless after a good nights sleep. The food is bar or a la carte. The bar food was hearty and tasty. Service was good but at times hard to find staff, however ring the bell as instructed and hey presto someone appeared. The staff were friendly and the seasonal Aussie/Kiwi contingent give a great antipodean welcome. A chilled, relaxed environment for walkers and countryside lovers, reasonably priced with everything you need. Ideal!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meldemaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    137
    50
    18
    14
See reviews for
64
222
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. This hotel is in a great position for exploring the many walks and climbs in the beautiful Langdale Valley. Having walked up to Stickle Tarn and scrambling up Jacks Rake we arrived at the hotel. Check in was slightly delayed but nevertheless the staff were apologetic and we enjoyed a pot of coffee in the lounge in front of a fire - very welcoming. Our room was clean and warm, tea and coffee making facilities, good bathroom (again spotlessly clean with plenty of towels). We ate in the bar in the evening, the food was very good and not to expensive at all. You also have the choice to eat in the restaurant, the menu looked very good. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, plenty of choice, with as much fresh coffee, tea and toast as you want. Checkout was simple and speedy. We must however mention the staff. Mainly Australian/New zealanders, they were polite, helpful, always had a smile on their faces and nothing was to much trouble - a credit to the hotel which I hope is appreciated.
We would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank House-ElfPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here and found it clean and a great place to stay. the area is beautiful with fantastic views no matter which way you look. Nice pubs and lots of walkers. Great place for hikers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Very comfortable and efficient hotel. Bedroom clean and well heated, staff friendly and helpful. One thing that the management must look at is the bar is mopped out early in the morning and the smell of disinfectant pervades the ground floor of the hotel and into the restaurant which rather spoils the otherwise tasty breakfast

Room Tip: Room 23 (family) at the top of the house is very spacious and has easy access to the rear staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhichWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We are used to travelling with our dog and staying in clean, high standard hotels/B&Bs/cottages so booking the New Dungeon Ghyll from their website did not prepare us for what greeted us on our arrival. We were shown to a ground floor room at the back of the property and when the door was opened the smell nearly knocked me over! A most horrendous cloying dog smell. To say the decor of the room was tired is an understatement, exhausted would be a better description and this included the bathroom. Even the plug in the sink had departed from the chain - yes, the bathroom was certainly not the modern type shown on the website. The skirting boards and paintwork were chipped and there were dog claw marks up the back of the door to 4' height. None of this was depicted on the website. And it only got worse as there was a complete acceptance by the manager as to what the room was like and smelt like, as though this is how people with dogs live and are prepared to accept when they book time away! So sold to us knowing that this was the state of it. Needless to say we left and booked into a very nice clean, smell-free, accommodating hotel, and it was cheaper and dog-friendly!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Nestling at the foot of the Langdale Pikes, this well run family hotel always manages to come up fresh every time I visit.
With a friendly staff, well prepared food with lots of choice. a good selection of wines and some well kept real ale, this hotel manages to combine a walkers refuge at the end of a big day in the hills whilst still catering for the more gentile car bound tourist looking for a close up encounter with some majestic scenery.
Our standared room was comfortable and with an en suite bath, just the job at the end of the day to have a good soak .
I shall return again and again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msb280336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for 1 night on 30th August. Room was spotless if a little small. Food for evening meal excellent. Cooked breakfast a bit literal - bacon and sausage meant 1 rasher and 1 sausage, where we often got a couple of each at other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosseyed-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
11.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
10.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,211 reviews
13.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
17.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing