We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at NDG at the beginning of March and had the 3 night dinner bed and breakfast offer, which we feel represents great value for money.
The location of the hotel is second to none with stunning views and access to many great fells which is perfect for us
The food options were good with plenty of choice included in the set menu there is an extra charge for the steak option although this still represents great value for money
The room we stayed in was small and basic and yes a little tired however it was fine for our needs, could have done with a couple of extra plug sockets though.All in all if you are looking for a relaxing hotel with good food and superb access to the heart of the lakes you really can't go far wrong with the New Dungeon Ghyll
We will be back

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thanks for your great comments.
Yes you did stay in one of our rooms that has not been refurbished yet, we have 3 more to do and these are being done in November. The electrician has been booked as I agree we do need more sockets.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 23rd March 2013 and from start to finish we had a wonderful experience. It had snowed very heavily the day before, so the drive through the lakes to the hotel was a winter wonderland, and we were relieved to find the road to the hotel was clear of snow.

We were met straight away on our arrival in reception, greeted warmly, checked in quickly and shown to our room.

The room was fantastic. Very spacious, spotlessly clean and well presented. It was also lovely & warm after the biting cold outside. But the best thing of all was the amazing views of the Langdale Pikes from all 3 windows - snowclad peaks that looked more like something from an alpine scene than somewhere in the UK - truly stunning! And when we finally made it to bed it was very comfortable and we had a really good nights sleep.

The public areas were again very well presented and imaculately clean. The lounge has big patio doors opening out onto a large garden complete with snowmen! The Walkers Bar has chunky rustic furniture and a well stocked bar. The dining area where we ate our evening meal had a huge roaring log fire, which our table was blissfully close to, and we watched the light fade over the snowclad peaks basking in the warmth of the fire.

The food was superb! Local produce freshly cooked. Minimal waiting between courses, and a lovely wine to accompany it. A seriously good dining experience.

The staff were fantastic! Very friendly, very efficient and very professional. Again making for a wonderful experience.

In fact we enjoyed our stay so much that we made two more bookings there and then, for later in the year.

A fantastic Hotel in a stunning location and very good value for money - I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room - best views
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

wow!! What great comments, thank you very much.
I must admit that the valley looked spectacular last weekend due to the foot of snow we had on the friday.
See you in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our 4th visit to the New Dungeon Ghyll, this time bringing old friends who loved it so much they booked a return weekend before they left

The location is superb, very remote, peaceful and relaxing. You can walk out of the front door and walk in any direction. The hotel helpfully sells a book of walks from the hotel for a few pounds and there is a book to record where you are going and that you are safely home

The hotel is Victorian and so the rooms vary in size but all have now have been renovated and provide very comfortable surroundings and the views from every window are awesome

The staff are excellent and the welcome warm. The walkers bar is informal and friendly and we like to eat there. This time Lamb Henry and Cumberland Sausage, all very locally sourced. There is a full service in the restaurant as well with many deals including dinner. Breakfast is good, again locally sourced and efficiently served

Residents also have their own bar and a comfortable sitting room as well as extensive gardens

Over 3 years it is good to see the continued investment by the family. The reception, hall and landings have been completed since our last visit in November. Soon the dining room will be extended into the garden with an extension designed to accommodate weddings

Above all though it is the location and the friendly welcome which draw us back again and again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxyxxyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thanks for your great comments, and it was lovely to see you again. I will be paying you commision for bringing us new guests!!

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Several Langdale hikes start right from the hotel and the view from any room is spectacular. I am glad the hotel is not just serving pub food and you sit on stools, although there is a walker's bar. Instead the food was a positive surprise, very good, greater than average selection and varied. This applies to breakfast as well. Also, the wine list is very good with some half bottles, burgundy and even a Lebanese wine if I remember correctly. Yes, the rooms can be small but there is a lovely lounge with open fire. Staff is very friendly. Overall, one pays for the location and the good food on offer; I would certainly return.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ManchesterRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments, and glad you enjoyed our food. All our food is home made even the bread, I will pass your comments onto the kitchen staff. I have just up dated our wine list and have introduced some new wines to our menu, all our wine is from our local wine merchant Frank Stainton.
Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

You have the most spectacular views and the walks in the area are fantastic. The food is good but the dining area a bit formal for my liking but that is not a criticism just not for me. The room was lovely but could have been better when compared with other comparitive hotels charging the same rate. Great location, nearby pubs are wonderful and probably more my kind of thing, would however recommend as was a lovely treat. The only downside is can be a bit noisy when guests leave late on and perhaps don't realise how loud they are, but can't criticise the hotel for that!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulham9EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

What lovely comments, thank you very much.
We do also serve bar food in the bar or lounges and our guesrts also get 10% on bar food, so if you ever come to visit again maybe that might be a better option for you. I will pass on the messages to our staff as they love the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Took a risk on late availability to book two nights. Turned up to find last minute.com hadnt sent them on the details. Staff v helpful though and gave us best room available. Very pleased with an idyllic and spectacular location, friendly staff and good room. Meals fine - had bar food, veggie choice bit limited but good quality. Real ales on tap. Open fires in all the public rooms, toastie warm. Wifi available throughout, adequate speed, surprising given end of the road location. All round good stay and definitely will be back again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

What lovely comments, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The location would be hard to surpass but we paid for a superior room and ended up with a pokey attic room with a tiny window – hugely disappointing. The breakfast was good as was the meal in the adjacent Walkers Bar but for the price we expected a much better room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for you comments. We have superior rooms on all floors all with different features and different sizes etc. If you come to visit again ask for a superior room on the middle floor as they have more floor space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,404 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
488 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,220 reviews
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £106 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing