We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Dogfriendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
2 reviews
“Great Hotel & Dogfriendly!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our small dog and found the hotel to be everything you want in the Lake District. Beautiful location. Food was great both at breakfast and meals in the bar. We had a ground floor room that led out to the courtyard at the rear of the hotel where we could exercise the dog and they also set a table for us in the bar lounge so our dog could sit with us whilst we had breakfast. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Even as a dog owner I would not want to stay in a room that smelt of dogs but there was not sign of other dogs having been there as the room was immaculate. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaBGAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
What lovely comments, thank you. I will pass the on, especially to our housekeeping team that do a great job. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    137
    50
    18
    14
See reviews for
64
222
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hey listen, this is a great hotel, alright upstairs may need a lick of paint but you cannot fault the food, the bedroom, the staff, the views and location. Just try it for yourself, if you want the Ritz don't book for here but for the cost you won't be disappointed, both me and the wife had a great time and we will be back!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was very good and speaking to other guests they had no grievances either
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your break with us and I will pass on all your comments to our team. The corridors are booked in for 2014 so we are getting there slowly but surely.
Hope to see you soon, maybe taking advantage of our great winter offers that will be advertised shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had a great stay here from 25th to 28th August. We were part of a large party and the hotel were extremely helpful, laying up one long table so that we could all eat together. We had the family room (no 23) which was large enough for 4 of us and also extremely quiet! The food was great both morning and evening with changes to the menu every day. The hotel garden is lovely, but perhaps more garden furniture would be useful. The car park is tiny and one of our party did get their car scratched by an inconsiderate driver - perhaps this could be made slightly larger? Finally the valley is magnificient with wonderful views and superb walking, both low and high level. We will be back.

Room Tip: No 23 (family room) is very quiet. Rooms at the front were noisy but there was a busy and raucous ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TW00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
So sorry to hear about the car, our car park is big enough for our residents but the odd walker parks and goes walking for the day leaving us with too few car parking spaces .

Glad you enjoyed the bank holiday weekend with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just back from a great 5 day break at the New Dungeon Ghyll. A small but well located hotel , with great views, a few miles from Ambleside. We had booked half board and a five day package deal. The meals and menu certainly much superior to what you would expect of a hotel this size. Great breakfasts and 5? course evening meals (if you include the coffee). Staff friendly and helpful. No complaints there. a comfortable lounge and Wi Fi available. An excellent bar and bar man.
Caution, if you want a quiet break this is not for you. Next door is the Dungeon Ghyll's Walkers Bar and noise on a summer's evening can go on later than some might want. Good idea is to perhaps join them. Also close to the only National Trust pub and hostel. If you want quiet you need The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel close by. Lots of great walks and routes from or close to New Dungeon Ghyll too.
Our room was directly above this at the front of hotel. One criticism - whilst our room was adequate and comfortable the discription of Superior twin was a bit ambitious.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms if you want an early night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks for your great comments, sorry if the music was a bit loud for you. We have great local musicians who play at the hotel during the summer months and they love to sit outside and play to the customers, we do try to stop the music at last orders but they are often asked for encores and it makes finishing time a little later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

There was a mix up with the booking and the NEW Dungeon Ghyll hotel took money from our credit card without our permission. Then Rebecca Manley Manager of the hotel actually shouted at me down the telephone, refused to refund the money then lied in correspondence to my credit card company about the situation. Luckily her story was inconsistent in terms of the information she submitted to my credit card company relating to the amount she actually charged and the amount on the so called confirmation letter she said she had sent to me but hadn't!!

The fact that she had to pay they money back in the end after a lot of wasted time and energy says it all!

I would recommend you stay in the OLD Dungeon Ghyll (which is just next door to the NEW Dungeon Ghyll) where the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and generous. The hotel is gorgeous, food top class and the pub next door is warm, friendly, log fire and dogs welcome. Neil and Shelia, managers in the OLD DG hotel couldn't be more lovely and were willing to foot the bill for the mix up in hotels. There is no comparison between the two!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the New Dungeon Ghyll, they don't deserve the custom! Go to the Old Dungeon Ghyll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wellies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
I have lived and managed this hotel for the last 22 years and have never been rude to any of my customers, but when so called customers turn up at the wrong hotel and that hotel had tried to phone us to rectify your problem ,you did not want them too, It was obvious that you wanted to stay there but you had booked with us as the confirmation letter sent out on the day of your booking clearly states, You did not have the decency to call the hotel and cancel the booking and our confirmation letter clearly states our cancellation policy.
I think it is very bad manners and when threatened by bad publicity by yourself through local papers etc for something I have clearly not done I will defend my case and my hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous, gorgeous setting! Beautiful countryside! Can't be beaten for location!!

Nicely styled hotel on face value, convenient and good bar + food!

3rd floor has dated pink carpet with marked walls. It's a shame as the hotel on the whole is lovely, nicely decorated. The room doors are thin and very dated in comparison to rooms that appear to have been modernised.

Quaint room, bathroom equally as big as bedroom, perfectly ok for a 3 star. But quilt had crumbs on it, a few hairs and te scatter cushion that was matted up fur. Why bother having things that aren't easily cleaned? It's just tacky, don't bother with any scatter cushions or throws across the bed; just use nice simple classic bedding. Equally the walls had cheap looking artwork. Why bother? Just keep it simple, it would look much classier.

Good points were, plenty of toiletries, and tea/biscuit selection in the room! Bed perfectly comfortable and decent pillows. On the whole not bad but only a 3 Star.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hi and thank you for your comments, I do agree that the corridors are in need of updating, it is all booked in for 2014, but firstly we have 3 bedrooms to decorate and they are being done in November. Glad you enjoyed the food and drink and I will pass on all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Scenes from Hotel were breathe taking. There was ample car parking space at the rear of the hotel.

Room was basic and adequate. The bed was comfortable enough.

Food from the bar was tasty. Nothing is better than sipping locally produced ale after a long day out trekking with the mountain on your horizon.

Would return purely because of its location, probably not with young family members.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, General Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we do agree that we are situated in the most beautiful valley with breath taking valley. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
11.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
10.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
480 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
13.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing