We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Gorgeous Location ( Avoid "Fatty Beef")”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My Husband and I spent one night at the New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel during our recent UK Road trip. I wish that we had spent an entire weekend, as it was very lovely and relaxing.

We were given a room on the second floor over looking the side garden and it was perfect. It was so quiet, with a long interior hall that set it back from the other rooms. The bathroom and hallway were a few steps above the main bedroom, make the bedroom feel like a separate space. There was lots of natural light, especially in the bathroom. The bathroom had the added bonus of a heated towel rack and heated floors. It was clean, spacious and modern. I loved the room!

I also really enjoyed the downstairs lounge area, where we sat and used the free-wifi, another big bonus. This hotel isn't close to a lot, so it feels like a big escape from outside life. It's relaxing!

I thought that the breakfast that was included was really nice. They served great locally made yogurt and a full cooked breakfast.

We has the Sunday Roast in the bar, which led to a funny story. On the written hotel survey, I wrote that the "beef was a little fatty". I'm sure that they think I'm a crazy American, because my English husband got a good laugh and informed me that I had been eating lamb, not beef. It was the joke of the trip.

The staff was nice, but a little overwhelmed. They had just hired a bunch of new employees from Australia and we were there on their first week, while they were still getting the hang of things. They were all very friendly and trying their best, but we had to wait a long time for things and there were a few mix-ups. Nothing that was a big deal though.

This is a wonderful hotel in a very beautiful location. I highly recommend staying here!

Like my review? Check out my blog!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

What lovely comments, thanks very much.
We have had a few new staff arrive as our old ones are going traveling etc,,It sometimes takes a little time to get used to the hotel ways etc but are all bedded in and doing great now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hadn't stayed in Langdale for years and had been looking forward to the trip for several months. Unfortunately the weather was dreadful so spent little time out in the hills. The hotel though was fine (two nights there), very friendly and helpful staff, good food, great location (right at the bottom of the path to Stickle Tarn etc), small and fairly quiet, though busy. Next door is another bar/restaurant if you fancy a change - we went for drinks but had dinner in the hotel each night (they also provide a packed lunch for those venturing out, as we did). Hotel car park is quite small but everyone managed to squeeze theirs in. Will stay again, hopefully when the weather is better. Definitely a place for those liking the hills, though Ambleside isn't too far away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lidayh0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Replying to this review on a beautiful frosty winters day, shame it cannot be like this all the time.
Thanks for your great comments and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed here in the past and found again it is a really nice hotel, was a little worried after readingsome of the comments but i have to say there are a lot of mis guided people around.
Our stay was really good the all British plus one Australian lady were very good attentive and very pleasant.
The quality of the produce served is first class the room was very clean with fantastic views down the valley.
I would Recommend a stay here anytime well done Rebbeca.

Room Tip: Room 17 and 18 really nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

It was lovely seeing you again, we get such a great number of repeat guests and we really appreciate all the kind comments we get, even the unkind ones if we can act upon them, but as mentioned previously you cannot please everybody.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed here a number of times over many years and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel had been refurbished. The views are stunning with many walks straight from the door. What more can you want for a relaxing break? Good food and a nice lounge with wood burner to relax in at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a dual aspect and room 14 is the largest room we have stayed in at this hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeybeckBulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

It was lovely to see you again and thanks for great review.
We are carrying on with the refurbishment, as you mentioned we have 3 lovely new log burners, rooms 8 9 and 10 are starting the big refurbishment next week and our public toilets are being revamped and will be finished by January 2014.
Plenty to see hopefully on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during September 2013. We had such an enjoyable stay. The staff were very friendly, the service was great.

The hotel had the character that we expected, the rooms were very comfortable and clean too with a beautiful and peaceful outlook.

The restaurant meals exceeded our expectations, we were expecting a little above 'pub grub' and we received excellent quality dining. After a challenging day walking Bowfell, their walkers bar was a welcome sight with cracking local ales. I should also mention that the packed lunches available were spot on.

The location is a little over 15 mins drive outside of Ambleside, which was ideal to get out of the way of fellow tourists. We have recommended to others, and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

What lovely comments, as mentioned on previous responses all our food is home made and this does make a difference and our ales are well looked after.

Thanks for making the time to review us and hope too see you soon, look on our website for our great winter offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Good homely cooked food. Fish and chips very large portion. If looking for somewhere posh to sit not for you. Walkers who have been out all day sharing stories and gd food. Quick service food freshly cooked. Good selection of ales.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cmissenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments, the fish and chips have proved to be a great success this year as have the real ales, we tend to keep the wainwright ale on at all times but also have ales of the month on.

Hope to see you next time you are visiting the langdales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We got booked into this hotel on the wrong date- i asked for the recptionist to book me in on the date of the marathon so myself and my family could watch the runners. I didnt have internet connection at the time so I asked the receotionist if she could check the date, so she checked and said it was on the 29th september. I turned up at the hotel on this date and the marathon was a week before. We couldnt get a return of our deposit so we therefore had no choice but to stay.

The next day we had to mske our journey back home early. We got Into the hotel lobby at 7am. We asked the hotel staff if we could have some milk for our 1 year old daughter. They replied with "breakfast doesnt open till 7.30". We told them that we didnt want breakfast, just some milk, however they were just very rude and refused us of having this.
My family and I fele extremeky dissapointed that we had to endure this, The staff didnt meet to mine or my famikys basic needs. I emailed the hotel about this a week ago and still havent recieved a reply.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Johny_z4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

As mentioned in your reply to your email of complaint the langdale marathon has nothing to do with our hotel, we let them use our field for the start and finish of the race and for a car park and we donate raffle prizes. In your previous letter you were in the race in this complaint you were just watching, if you were in the race the date of the race would have been on your registration form. It is not even mentioned in our diary as many races leave the Langdale valley in the year.
It is up to the individual to check there dates.
You left the following morning at 7.30am, if you had asked for a early breakfast it could have been arranged, as I checked you into the hotel and I explained meal times etc.(Breakfast is served from 8.00 to 9.30am) Your wife asked myself on the Monday morning if you could have early breakfast, I explained that I could go and set it up and would give you a call when I had done so, I came back to reception at 7.45am but you had gone. There was absolutely no mention of milk for the baby as we could of filled a bottle for you and If asking about the health of your baby( as she had fallen and had a cut nose) is classed as being rude I apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
487 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,219 reviews
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £107 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing