We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in a huge family room at the top of the hotel with ensuite shower room. Plenty of room for rucksacks etc. Interestingly our Sherpa bags weren't taken to our room which I would have thought a hotel would do, but we were up the stairs. Dungeon Ghyll is an amazing location. We switched from restaurant to bar meal as the menu was simpler and had great fish and chips, and Thwaites beer. Easy checkout the next day.

Room Tip: Room 23 family room great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyadventurersha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for your great comments, hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk and hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    136
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
218
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Paid 11.99 for a beef home made pie in red wine, and actually got a tiny sliver of mince pie and cheap frozen type chips , ive been going to the lakes for last 20 years and this is the worst meal ever. Go to stikle barn instead . My friend ordered their special steak 18.99 tasted like rubber, didnt get a chance to discuss with staff as there was no one around, I had also emailed at beginning of week to see if I could reserve a table and they didnt even bother to reply ! Very dissapointed wont be returning .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanhedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi, thanks for your comments, not sure what happened to the e mail as we respond to all e mails straight away. I wish you had asked to speak to somebody about your food as we could have rectified it for you, when you are in the valley again please pop in and we can sort something out for yourself, even if it is only a couple of beers to apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent beer, food and staff.

Bar slightly bare looking, but perfectly functional.

A great pub, whether you've walked or not.

Thwaites beers well kept. Food mostly usual pub grub but apparently prepared by someone who cares. Staff light hearted but professional.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank colinjago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed our food and thanks for the comments, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel has a stunning location and that is the reason it does so well.
The rooms were good, spacious and comfortable with a good shower.
The food and welcome were not up to expectations.
The staff are very efficient but during a 2 day stay there was no chat except what was necessary to get through the business of check in/ordering food etc. I felt no warmth of welcome at all.
The dining room is positively gloomy and dark and we much preferred the bar.
The barman was needing training............to be kind!!
The food was typical of the large stodgy food served in walking areas, no finesse and items missing from the meal which when we enquired after we were told that they had run out........no further offer of an alternative or indeed it would have been nice to be told what was going to be missing before ordering the food.
Wifi downstairs was welcome but these days most hotels have wifi in the rooms.
So go to enjoy the scenery as it is sublime but this hotel would need to try harder if its location was not so good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perdita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi, thanks for your comments and they have been taken on board, we are just recruiting at the moment and are finding it a bit difficult to find our last 2 members of staff to complete our team, the member of staff you are referring to is no longer with us, we are normally a happy team so we hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
299 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a 3 night stay, 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast on a deal and an additional night B+B.To be honest we only really expected a pub with rooms. From the warm welcome to our departure, promising to ourselves to return, we were delighted with this small well run hotel.
We knew the location to be good and it is a delight to walk out of the door and be surrounded by hills with the sound of rushing water from the ghyll. An additional bonus is the lack of light at night - stars abound.
Our room (twin superior) was spacious and comfortable, not flashy, with everything we needed and the bonus of proper wooden furniture. Clean bathroom with functional shower. An example of the service was that we just had to nip down to the bar to get fresh milk for tea/coffee. The staff team is small, all multitask and work very hard. Some members are more cheery than others but all try very hard to make sure everything is done right.
The food was the biggest bonus - breakfasts included very good local yoghurt and fantastic toast from home made bread as well as the usual grilled / eggy items.
The 4 course dinner was really good - proper home cooked food in the Delia tradition , again home made breads, and a good range of choices each night. It would be a distance to go specially for the food but it is good enough to consider. The dining room is not the most picturesque - the windows overlook the garden and the room is 2 knocked together so natural light is limited. At night there are candles lit which give it a bit of atmosphere but it is a touch basic. No one pretends it any is anything that it is not.
The communal lounge is fine, we preferred the bar. On the Saturday night there was a singer and the atmosphere was very jolly with singing along and the odd outbreak of dancing.
2 unexpected, and very welcome bonuses - there is free wifi downstairs ( no mobile reception), and the hotel has an arrangement with the upmarket Langdale Estate just down the valley to use thier spa facilities - Gym, large pool, Jacuzzi, steam room etc, just ask at reception.
This is what all Lake District Hotels should be like !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Wow! What lovely comments, we do try and please all our customers.
Marc the singer is great and is playing every month until November, check our web page for dates and special offers.
The comments will be passed onto all our staff. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Lovely hotel, ideal for walks and relax in the evening. Good value for money, bed breakfast and evening meal. Food is of high quality, staff friendly. Dining room just lets it down needs to be updated. But would still visit again in the summer.

Room Tip: Room 10, corner room windows on both sides, to admire the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
The dining room is on the list for refurbishment next year, thanks for the great comments and hope to see you in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A midweek Monday to Friday stay with Dinner Bed and Breakfast. Location in the Langdale Valley with Fell walks from the door. Excellent cooked Breakfasts and four course Dinners with large packed lunches to order. Rooms improved a lot since our last stay in 2003…Excellent service and relaxing evenings in the Lounge. A destination in itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
What lovely comments, thank you.
Yes we are getting on well with our refurbishments, its the corridors later on in the year that are getting decorated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#11 of 12 in Ambleside
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,661 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing