We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another 'Hikers Bar New Dungeon Ghyll Food Terrible'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Always reluctant to write a bad review but just had the worst ever meal and essentially feel robbed. The steak meal was unrecognisable from the description on the menu with half the elements missing, a mush of vegetables and more fat than meat. The 'so called' Cumberland sausage would not have been out of place at a motorway service station. I could go on. Complaining just makes for wasted valuable holiday time and we headed quickly down the valley to Wainwrights to salvage the evening. We have visited the NDG many times, often staying in the hotel - maybe overreacting but think it will be along time before we return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gasgasmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us, we cannot act upon complaints if they are not bought to our attention at the time, I possibly thought that being a regular customer that you might have asked for myself and the situation could have been rectified. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a great 2 night break. Very impressed! great food and service, all our meals were delicious, the steak was cooked to perfection! Would definitely recommend the fish and chips, the breakfast has the best sausages and home made bread. We had our 8 year old son and dog with us, we were given a lovely room on the ground floor which was spotless and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for your great comments, our meat is handed picked from the market every week and our sausages come from our local butcher in Ambleside. The comments will be passed on to all staff, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

At £135 for bed and breakfast this was a really poor choice.
Whilst the room and facilities were ok it was no where the standard of other accommodation we have stayed in for this sort of money .
The bar is Spartan and the food a bit pricy but you can't knock the location All in all rather disappointing

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank glyn1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for your comments, our pricing on accommodation is on a par with other 3 star hotels in the area but I noticed you booked on line and not with the hotel, if you wish to re visit call the hotel directly and also look on our web page for any special offers. Also our food prices are slightly cheaper than our local hostelries and our guests also receive 10% on discount on bar food, We agree that we do not have the best looking bar but are really trying to improve it, we have just had a new bar floor and have recently refurbished our public bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

6 of us arrived at the New Dungeon at 8.55pm on good Friday very tired and very hungry
Due to what is a small bar with a limited number of tables we were forced to eat outside in the cold and dark , however the food arrived in 20 minutes that was good.
Would not reccomend eating outside, we were unable to see what we were eating and the food soon went cold.
The pies tasted good, but this may of been just because we were so hungry!

We were gratefull to be fed but we did think the staff could of made an effort to find us a table inside as many people were jut sitting at tables talking by 9.20pm
There was also an empty resturant but we were not permitted to sit in that as part of the hotel.....a very strange attitude

We returned to the Dungeon but only for drinks as we did not wish to eat outside again.

The Dungeon Gill has a real opportunity given the mess the Stickle Barn is currently in but does it want to be a good pub with good food or a Hotel with a public bar that does food ?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PJR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hope you enjoyed your Easter weekend in the Langdale valley with the fab weather we had and thanks for your nice comments. Our barfood is all made in house including the pies so I hope even though you were starving they were good.
We were extremely busy over the weekend and as you Know our bar is only small, we have a huge outside space but as you mentioned it was rather chilly sitting outside when the sun had gone down. We do offer seating in our residents bar lounge but that was also full, our dining room is open to non residents but we offer a different menu in there, the people who has finished eating had been with us all night so we could not ask them to move to accommodate your party when your food arrived. I hope you will visit us again when you return to Langdale and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in a huge family room at the top of the hotel with ensuite shower room. Plenty of room for rucksacks etc. Interestingly our Sherpa bags weren't taken to our room which I would have thought a hotel would do, but we were up the stairs. Dungeon Ghyll is an amazing location. We switched from restaurant to bar meal as the menu was simpler and had great fish and chips, and Thwaites beer. Easy checkout the next day.

Room Tip: Room 23 family room great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyadventurersha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for your great comments, hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk and hope to see you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Paid 11.99 for a beef home made pie in red wine, and actually got a tiny sliver of mince pie and cheap frozen type chips , ive been going to the lakes for last 20 years and this is the worst meal ever. Go to stikle barn instead . My friend ordered their special steak 18.99 tasted like rubber, didnt get a chance to discuss with staff as there was no one around, I had also emailed at beginning of week to see if I could reserve a table and they didnt even bother to reply ! Very dissapointed wont be returning .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seanhedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi, thanks for your comments, not sure what happened to the e mail as we respond to all e mails straight away. I wish you had asked to speak to somebody about your food as we could have rectified it for you, when you are in the valley again please pop in and we can sort something out for yourself, even if it is only a couple of beers to apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent beer, food and staff.

Bar slightly bare looking, but perfectly functional.

A great pub, whether you've walked or not.

Thwaites beers well kept. Food mostly usual pub grub but apparently prepared by someone who cares. Staff light hearted but professional.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank colinjago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Glad you enjoyed our food and thanks for the comments, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
5.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
8.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: £103 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing