We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Great Room, Good Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Room, Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel several times over the years. The location is idyllic - fabulous walks direct from the door. We upgraded our room when booking to ensure we had good views and good decor etc. The room was clean, in good order with a large shower with loads of hot water, We ate in the Walkers Bar and can honestly say that the food was very good - much better than we had previously experienced in there. The breakfasts are delicious - well cooked and everywhere is very clean. The Staff at the Hotel are very welcoming, polite and courteous and are a credit to the Management - well done.

All in all, a great few days in a perfect location. It rained heavily for one day, but there is nothing anyone can do about that!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good views and upgrade if you are able to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for the great comments, we are always trying to improve our service and facilities and are at the moment replacing our outside paths. As mentioned before all our menu items are home made and I have passed on your comments to our kitchen team. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    125
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
57
206
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose to stay here more for convenience. My husband had entered a bike ride that was organised to start in the field next to this hotel. I liked the look of photos found on line but was a little concerned with regards to a few previous comments on here, in particular the comments regarding the unfriendly staff.

All I can say is I have just had the most amazing weekend and could not fault the hotel or staff in anyway!

The setting was fantastic and on walking into the reception area I was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting something a bit more rustic but instead was greeted by a tastefully decorated and homely hotel. Check in was quick and friendly with the lovely young lady very helpful and informative when I asked her on how I could use the spa facilities in another hotel whilst my husband was on his bike ride. Our room, no.11, though maybe quite small had everything in it we needed. It had very recently been decorated and therefore was all spanking new and clean! The bed and pillows were very comfy, the shower hot and big. One concern we did have, was the location of our room and the possible noise from fellow guests coming back to their rooms late at night. We need not have worried, the only noise heard was the sound of the sheep in the morning, and we only heard that because we had the window open all night!! ( It was a touch warm in the room for me, but that was easily sorted!) Breakfast had something for everyone and the full breakfast was beautifully cooked.

To put it in a nutshell, we will be back next year! My advice to anyone staying here and worried about the unfriendly staff, well don't be, they were very professional and helpful! Thank you to the manager and staff for a fabulous weekend!
Mr Mrs Conway

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakespearestarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for making time to write such lovely comments, it was greatly appreciated and has been passed onto all. We like to think we are a friendly bunch but we cannot please all.
See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed 1 night at the New Dungeon Ghyll with husband and 2 boys aged 11 and 6. We had the family room which was very spacious and furnished to a good and modern standard. Only downside would be there not being a bath - though the shower was very big and powerful. We ate in the Walkers Bar, where there was lots to choose from and all enjoyed our meals. Location is amazing. As regular visitors to the Lakes, we Will be back to the NDG.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such lovely comments. We do only have 4 rooms with baths but these are not family rooms. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Always reluctant to write a bad review but just had the worst ever meal and essentially feel robbed. The steak meal was unrecognisable from the description on the menu with half the elements missing, a mush of vegetables and more fat than meat. The 'so called' Cumberland sausage would not have been out of place at a motorway service station. I could go on. Complaining just makes for wasted valuable holiday time and we headed quickly down the valley to Wainwrights to salvage the evening. We have visited the NDG many times, often staying in the hotel - maybe overreacting but think it will be along time before we return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gasgasmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us, we cannot act upon complaints if they are not bought to our attention at the time, I possibly thought that being a regular customer that you might have asked for myself and the situation could have been rectified. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a great 2 night break. Very impressed! great food and service, all our meals were delicious, the steak was cooked to perfection! Would definitely recommend the fish and chips, the breakfast has the best sausages and home made bread. We had our 8 year old son and dog with us, we were given a lovely room on the ground floor which was spotless and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for your great comments, our meat is handed picked from the market every week and our sausages come from our local butcher in Ambleside. The comments will be passed on to all staff, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

At £135 for bed and breakfast this was a really poor choice.
Whilst the room and facilities were ok it was no where the standard of other accommodation we have stayed in for this sort of money .
The bar is Spartan and the food a bit pricy but you can't knock the location All in all rather disappointing

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank glyn1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for your comments, our pricing on accommodation is on a par with other 3 star hotels in the area but I noticed you booked on line and not with the hotel, if you wish to re visit call the hotel directly and also look on our web page for any special offers. Also our food prices are slightly cheaper than our local hostelries and our guests also receive 10% on discount on bar food, We agree that we do not have the best looking bar but are really trying to improve it, we have just had a new bar floor and have recently refurbished our public bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

6 of us arrived at the New Dungeon at 8.55pm on good Friday very tired and very hungry
Due to what is a small bar with a limited number of tables we were forced to eat outside in the cold and dark , however the food arrived in 20 minutes that was good.
Would not reccomend eating outside, we were unable to see what we were eating and the food soon went cold.
The pies tasted good, but this may of been just because we were so hungry!

We were gratefull to be fed but we did think the staff could of made an effort to find us a table inside as many people were jut sitting at tables talking by 9.20pm
There was also an empty resturant but we were not permitted to sit in that as part of the hotel.....a very strange attitude

We returned to the Dungeon but only for drinks as we did not wish to eat outside again.

The Dungeon Gill has a real opportunity given the mess the Stickle Barn is currently in but does it want to be a good pub with good food or a Hotel with a public bar that does food ?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hope you enjoyed your Easter weekend in the Langdale valley with the fab weather we had and thanks for your nice comments. Our barfood is all made in house including the pies so I hope even though you were starving they were good.
We were extremely busy over the weekend and as you Know our bar is only small, we have a huge outside space but as you mentioned it was rather chilly sitting outside when the sun had gone down. We do offer seating in our residents bar lounge but that was also full, our dining room is open to non residents but we offer a different menu in there, the people who has finished eating had been with us all night so we could not ask them to move to accommodate your party when your food arrived. I hope you will visit us again when you return to Langdale and we will do our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing