We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
223
154
56
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
154
56
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walkers bar langdale valley great langdale lake district superior room bar meals relaxing hotel residents lounge wi fi a ground floor room long walk packed lunch kippers perfect location days walking both nights family room
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I stayed here for one night on my own at the end of a group walking holiday (in another part of the Lakes). Staff very friendly, room excellent and food delicious. I felt very comfortable being a solo traveller here and only wish I could have stayed longer! I will definitely be back and wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No phone signal in hotel but wifi in public rooms
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

It was great to meet you and hope to see you again, maybe with your husband in tow next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Relaxing stay in perfect location in the Lakes. Cosy hotel with good amenities, very clean with welcoming staff. Breakfast hit the spot. The hotel is part of a small group of buildings which include the Sticklebarn (owned by the National Trust). You therefore have a choice of eating/drinking in the hotel bar or the Sticklebarn tavern (or indeed, wandering further up the road to the Old Dungeon Ghyll). Cannot fault location - at end of path leading up to Stickle Tarn and the Langdate Pikes.

Room was a little small, but was well maintained.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Thanks for taking the time to write such lovely comments, we do live in such a beautiful area and are very lucky to do so.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We've just returned from our umpteenth visit to the New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel and once again, we have had a lovely time. We first visited 20 years ago and during the intervening years we have visited whenever we can.
We love it for so many reasons. The location is fabulous, nestling at the foot of the Langdale Pikes, set-back from the small road. You can park the car and walk in the best landscape in England until your heart's content. The accomodation is clean and comfortable, the food is delicious and they serve some of my favourite ales. We have always found the management and staff to be polite, friendly and helpful.
The two-night and five-night dinner, bed and breakfast deals are, in our opinion, excellent value for money, given that the dinner includes five courses.
Even if you are not a walker, there are so many other places to visit and things to do. The New Dungeon Ghyll is an excellent base from which to explore the area.
Needless to say, we shall return...hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GazzaandSazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Thanks again for such lovely comments, it was lovely seeing you both again and we hope to see you later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Recently stayed here celebrating a family birthday in a Marquee next to the Sticklebarn. The location is fantastic and there are plenty of options for getting out and exploring.

Make sure you check out Stickle Tarn behind which is well worth the hike up next to the waterfall.

The B&B itself was a pleasant 3 star type accommodation, breakfast was very good and plentiful, the staff were friendly and helpful.

There is the hotel restaurant as well as the walkers bar and also the Sticklebarn across the road with options for food and drink. It is fairly pricey for the north of the country as you are in a bit of a captive market as not a huge amount of options, but visiting from down South we thought it was normal prices.

Only slight problem I had was that the hotel closes its doors at 12 and if you are not in then its kind of out of luck, I felt like I was back at home with a curfew although they were fairly accommodating as we were only across the road in the marquee to staying open a little later.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden view room was fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Glad you all enjoyed your weekend with us. If guests are wanting to stay out later a member of staff will always oblige to wait for there return, however there is not much night life after midnight living in the Langdale valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

I only stayed for one night, but would happily have spent much longer in this beautiful place.
The location is what makes the New Dungeon Ghyll- the views are amazing and the peace and tranquility is worth whatever the price!
The staff are all excellent- very friendly and welcoming. The food is good and reasonably priced and the bar is homely with a good range of drinks.
My room was cosy but had everything I needed, was very clean and extremely comfortable.
Only gripe was the WiFi isnt strong in the rooms and baring in mind the lack of phone signal (as would be expected) this can be a bit of a problem!
Overall definitely recommended, and I'd not hesitate to return.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccamanleyone, Manager at New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2015

Thanks for your great comments, wifi signal can be a bit dodgy at times, I suppose that's the price to pay for living in such great surroundings. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews