We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faultless location”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

It's perfectly situated in the Langdale valley if you want some quality walking up Bowfell, Scafell, Glaramara, etc or the Langdale Pikes, and about a 15 minute drive from Ambleside.

Double room was better than I expected with nice view onto the fells, big bed and a very nice, clean bathroom.

Used the homely Traveller's Bar for dinner and can't really fault it. Food there was good value and although there isn't a huge range of ales, a few pints of Thwaite's Wainwright should keep most happy.

We didn't use restaurant (looked a bit stuffy to me) but after a full day of walking in 2ft of snow we were more than happy to take advantage of the relaxed atmosphere in the bar.

Breakfast was very good with ususal choices although I should have thought twice before asking for a full English ahead of a long walk.

Didn't use the lounge but it looked nice and cosy and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigsharpteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    137
    50
    18
    14
See reviews for
64
222
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We have recently returned from a stay in this hotel and would highly recommend it. The setting is absolutely stunning with views of Langdale Pike and some lovely walks surrounding the hotel.

The staff here were very friendly and we enjoyed a meal in the bar on first night, before relaxing in front of a warm fire in the cosy lounge. I'd also recommend the pub next door (Stickleback Tavern?) for a good meal after a long walk.

The bedroom had recently been redecorated and had great views over surrounding hills. A very good shower as has already been mentioned in previous reviews. The only thing I wasn't keen on was the very soft mattress - gave us both a little bit of backache...

For those who enjoy swimming, the hotel has passes for a nearby leisure club.

All in all, a lovely hotel and we definitely hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkTweetyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

A brilliant hotel that has succombed to cost cutting. Still good deals, but the menu is no longer rotated each night and the beers are not so good..bring back London Pride!!!
The walkers bar has too many tables again trying to catch passing trade. Also dogs were once free and are now charged a room rate!! yet you get nothing for it!! not a dog bed or a tin of Chum. Dogs are also confined to just two rooms which limits guest's choice.
The beds are a little soft which can affect the old lumbar region...
And when are hotels going to start supplying free wi-fi??

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernleyfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed in the top room upstairs in room 16. Tight stairs to get up, but well worth it. It was quiet and out of the way. It had good views of the langdale valley and really was excellent value for money. They were in the process of redecorating the hotel while we were there. Our room had recently been done. No bath but a wonderful shower for two!

The lounge area of the hotel had just been done also.

Lots of open fires. The food was excellent, from breakfast to packed lunches. We ate in the bar and found the food to be plentiful. The staff were also friendly as were the other occupants.

Plenty of walks available without having to use the car as well. It was perfect for us as we wanted to walk the langdale pikes. An excellent place. We will no doubt return at some point.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbruce9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All at sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Whilst superbly located in Langdale, and an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding fells, I was disappointed in my stay at the NDG. The room in which we stayed boasted cobwebs, a stained and worn carpet and a grim en suite, and this a 'premium' room. Staff were courteous, grub from the restaurant overpriced and average. I'd only recommend the NDG if you get a deal. If you have to pay full tariff there are better quality hotels (and indeed guesthouses) in Grasmere and Ambleside.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GruffaloBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is in one of the most beautiful valleys in the Lakes, of course - Langdale. It is a perfect location from which to hit the Langdales themselves, as the main path up to Stickle Tarn is right behind the hotel. Just down the road past the Old DG hotel you have access to Crinkle Crags and Bowfell along Oxendale beck.
The room was great, quite newly refurbished. Despite its name, the "New" is only relative to the older place up the valley - the hotel is well established with a comfortable lounge. I'm sorry to say that dinner was a bit of a mixed bag, some excellent some not so good, which is a pity as there aren't a lot of eating options this far out. The bar is not very cosy (ignoring the walkers' bar, which does what it says on the tin, no problem).
Above all it is good to be able to be so close to the big walks - I had no trouble getting going before nine a.m. even after taking on the excellent full breakfast. The hotel is good value for money compared to some others around, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normanstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The location of the hotel is fantastic is you want to do the Langdale Pikes - literally go out the back door! We stayed 5 nights - evening meals were excellant, the menu changed every night and the breakfasts were OK.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
11.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,391 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
10.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
480 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
13.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing