We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Years Eve!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great New Years Eve!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We had a great stay here. The room, staff, food and entertainment over the New Year was great. We already came to this hotel in the summer and had a great stay then so knew we would not be dissapointed. The fireworks at midnight were brilliant. Will always be a special hotel to us as we got engaged here on New Years Eve.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    136
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
60
218
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
workington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Just returned from the dungeon ghyll and could not fault anything. Stayed in room 21 superior room,very clean , comfortable bed and great hot shower. The staff very friendly from reception through to the bar staff nothing was ever too much trouble and they were always willing to help with a nice smile. The breakfast is enough to keep you going all day even on a long walk. The walkers bar is very popular and friendly and a good choice of ales and a great menu for bar meals on offer. The residents lounge is very peaceful with a small range of books to read but the real log fire is superb.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laceygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I don't think Fernleyfishes stayed at the same hotel as us. We have just returned home today and found the hotel was warm, friendly, good meals and in a wonderful location. The only downside was the decoration of the reception and stairs but I understand this is on next years schedule. We stayed in a superior room and it was beautiful and clean, as was the bathroom and we shall return next year

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reluctantwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Biggest gripes are the cleanliness of the bathrooms, a periodic deeper clean would be appropriate..I lost count of the different species of mould growing in the crevices around the bath.
The set meal menu is the same for two evenings, rather than lack of imagination from the chief, this seems to be a cynical ploy to encourage guests to spend more by purchasing the more expensive steak on offer outside the set menu.
Not sure what the extra £20.00 levy for pets goes towards....
Beers although local are not the best in the area that could be stocked, far better choice at the Old Dungeon Ghyll

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernleyfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

green bath water with flies in it room 3, 70s finish.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We tried this hotel for the first time.lovely cosy rooms that were comfortable and warm.
Relaxing lounge and log fires which are great if the weather is wet.
Staff all very helpful,welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
Food quality especially the soups and sorbets excellent.Good choice of fresh vegetables.If on a three day break it may be better to make more daily changes on the menu especially when the starters are a bit more unusual and spicy.
Fabulous sticky toffee pudding and sauce.Best I have ever eaten.
Not easy access to upstairs rooms but do have rooms on ground floor.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niftyfiftyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My husband and I decided to take a break in the Lake District and we were recommended to the New Dungeon Ghyll by a friend from work who visits there annually.
We were not disappointed!
The drive to the hotel is really breathtaking with rugged fells on either side of the valley as you make your way to the hotel, nestled in at the foot of the Langdale Pikes.
The staff were all very friendly, at check in, in the restaurant, bar, throughout our whole stay. We were made to feel very at home.
The rooms were very modern, the bed very comfortable and everywhere extremely clean.
They seem to have everything covered; comfortable and modern rooms, friendly staff and fresh, tasty food.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and the atmosphere was very romantic, the food delicious and homemade...what we would expect to find in a high end restaurant.
The second night we went into the bar, and again we were not disappointed. Good choice and big helpings.
The only downside to our visit was that we had to leave!!
We will definetly be booking again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katharrison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#11 of 12 in Ambleside
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
5.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,660 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel

Property: New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the picturesque Langdale Valley, close to the bustling small town of Ambleside and is situated conveniently for visiting many intersting areas of the Lake District, such as Grasmere, Bowness on Windermere, Keswick and Kendal. The Hotel prides itself on the cuisine served, the relaxed and friendly service it offers, as well as the excellent standards provided.All bedrooms enjoy the most dramatic of views, whether over Stickle Beck as it tumbles down the fellside, to the Pikes themselves all dominant and brooding or Lingmoor as she forms the long south easterly side of the valley. Each of the extremely comfortable rooms are en-suite with colour television and tea and coffee making facilities and central heating.The bright restaurant overlooks the patio and to the lawn with the Lakeland fells beyond. Before dining take the opportunity to sample the hand pulled beers or the many malt whiskies available in the cosy lounge bar.Resident chef, Ian Manley, now in his 12th year at the hotel and his small and enthusiastic team have devised a style of cooking which is unique to The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel. Using only the finest seasonal local produce including game, meat and fish the hotel proudly claim an extremely high standard of cuisine that you will want to sample again and again. The excellent selection of dishes also extends to our range of vegetarian meals.The New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel is located in the very heart of the Lake District, one of the most beautiful and inspiring corners of England. This region of long ribbon lakes, green valleys and sweeping mountains was the home of the poets Wordsworth and Coleridge and greatly inspired their work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dungeon Ghyll Ambleside
New Dungeon Hotel
Hotel New Dungeon Ghyll
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing