We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Fell View

Fell View
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fell View
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A lovely little B&B run by a very friendly couple. Room had everything you could need & more. Fridge, DVD player, Wii, toiletries and even a bowl of mints. Breakfast was continental but still lots to choose from and very enjoyable. There is a pay & display car park on the street behind the B&B where we paid £15 for 3 days parking (saved keep returning to put more cash in the meter).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man_city_fan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed here for two nights in February 2013 and it was fantastic! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

We had a double room which was en suite, and was much bigger than we expected. We had gorgeous mountain views too. The room has excellent facilities; Sky TV, DVD player, Nintendo Wii, a blackboard (!!!) and an extra heater as well as the radiator. The room is decorated very nicely, very tasteful and relaxing.

A continental breakfast is provided and the dining room is left open for you to use if you get a take away etc.

It's located within walking distance of shops (A corner shop being literally next door) restaurants and pubs.

The owners themselves couldn't be more helpful, they explained everything to us as soon as we arrived (eg about the dining room) and were extremely helpful when we didn't know where to park our car. They let us know that if we needed anything we could give them a knock and they'd see if they could help, offering to get us the morning paper etc.

The only downside is the parking, but even that isn't too big of a deal. At most it's irritating having to get up to put more money in the meter as it runs out at 8am, but it's only £1 to park overnight so you really can't complain too much!

I've already told friends and family about this hotel, and we will definitely stay again if we're in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

After visiting the lakes for years paying high prices for B&B that at the end of the night are a place to rest your weary head after walking eating and drinking, it was nice to find a nice place to stay at a reasonable cost. This coupled with the really helpful owners and the extensive continental breakfast provided in the morning made for a great short break. It was incredible that the owners had the newsagents and store, ran the B&B along with bringing up their young baby but nothing seemed to phase them. Good luck to the young couple in their business venture.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuciferManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here for a night in October 2012 with friends to attend a wedding in nearby Grasmere. There are two rooms, both en suite, but the family room is considerably larger than the other available. I found the accommodation perfect for what we needed. It was warm, clean and comfortable with a generous continental breakfast provided. It is not luxury but for what we paid it was great value and more than adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at Fell View in September 2012, after an ok stay with problems with parking, local info re taxi numbers and mistakes in the guest manual I left some feedback on a website about some negative parts of the stay. They sent a very rude email saying they were "blacklisting" my partner and I from their B&B and some other list for guests. They cannot take constructive criticism, VERY rude and ignorant. They also called my partner rude, cannot rate this B & B low enough!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here again for 1 night in September, our second visit. Ideal for me and my best mate as you can book for just the 1 night. Great if you want a walk in the lakes without spending a fortune. Owners very friendly and pretty much let you get on with it. New room at the front was good, with nice views. Breakfast is good I like the fact that you can help yourself to a good continental style selection. I would definately recommend. We had great weather too for late September!

Room Tip: Room 2 has good views of Loughrigg Fell and a nice shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squash-Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at the fell view guest house. It was perfect for what we needed.

The owners are lovely. There is a continental breakfast, which you just help yourself too. The room itself was small, but that was fine for us.

Its not the Hilton, but if what you want is bargain accommodation in the heart of Ambleside, with friendly owners this is perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlelizzy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#26 of 103 in Ambleside
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wordsworths Guest House
Wordsworths Guest House
#44 of 103 in Ambleside
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Central
Ambleside Central
#102 of 103 in Ambleside
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#13 of 103 in Ambleside
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fell View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fell View

Address: Cambridge House Church Street | Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fell View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fell View Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing