We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fell View

Fell View
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fell View
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Fell View for two nights. It's a 1 (maybe 2?) room B&B above the local newsagent, run by a lovely couple. They were very accommodating, making every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. The room was ideal and had every amenity (see previous review - the list is long!). Breakfast was simple bit entirely adequate, and we were offered a choice of paper each morning which was a lovely touch. We asked check out late on Sunday which was no problem as they had no guests that night. The location was really ideal. All in all this was a super little find, not 'luxury' but then we didn't want that, and Fell View was far better value than other places in the area. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester - England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

A lovely little B&B run by a very friendly couple. Room had everything you could need & more. Fridge, DVD player, Wii, toiletries and even a bowl of mints. Breakfast was continental but still lots to choose from and very enjoyable. There is a pay & display car park on the street behind the B&B where we paid £15 for 3 days parking (saved keep returning to put more cash in the meter).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_city_fan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed here for two nights in February 2013 and it was fantastic! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

We had a double room which was en suite, and was much bigger than we expected. We had gorgeous mountain views too. The room has excellent facilities; Sky TV, DVD player, Nintendo Wii, a blackboard (!!!) and an extra heater as well as the radiator. The room is decorated very nicely, very tasteful and relaxing.

A continental breakfast is provided and the dining room is left open for you to use if you get a take away etc.

It's located within walking distance of shops (A corner shop being literally next door) restaurants and pubs.

The owners themselves couldn't be more helpful, they explained everything to us as soon as we arrived (eg about the dining room) and were extremely helpful when we didn't know where to park our car. They let us know that if we needed anything we could give them a knock and they'd see if they could help, offering to get us the morning paper etc.

The only downside is the parking, but even that isn't too big of a deal. At most it's irritating having to get up to put more money in the meter as it runs out at 8am, but it's only £1 to park overnight so you really can't complain too much!

I've already told friends and family about this hotel, and we will definitely stay again if we're in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

After visiting the lakes for years paying high prices for B&B that at the end of the night are a place to rest your weary head after walking eating and drinking, it was nice to find a nice place to stay at a reasonable cost. This coupled with the really helpful owners and the extensive continental breakfast provided in the morning made for a great short break. It was incredible that the owners had the newsagents and store, ran the B&B along with bringing up their young baby but nothing seemed to phase them. Good luck to the young couple in their business venture.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciferManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here for a night in October 2012 with friends to attend a wedding in nearby Grasmere. There are two rooms, both en suite, but the family room is considerably larger than the other available. I found the accommodation perfect for what we needed. It was warm, clean and comfortable with a generous continental breakfast provided. It is not luxury but for what we paid it was great value and more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at Fell View in September 2012, after an ok stay with problems with parking, local info re taxi numbers and mistakes in the guest manual I left some feedback on a website about some negative parts of the stay. They sent a very rude email saying they were "blacklisting" my partner and I from their B&B and some other list for guests. They cannot take constructive criticism, VERY rude and ignorant. They also called my partner rude, cannot rate this B & B low enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here again for 1 night in September, our second visit. Ideal for me and my best mate as you can book for just the 1 night. Great if you want a walk in the lakes without spending a fortune. Owners very friendly and pretty much let you get on with it. New room at the front was good, with nice views. Breakfast is good I like the fact that you can help yourself to a good continental style selection. I would definately recommend. We had great weather too for late September!

Room Tip: Room 2 has good views of Loughrigg Fell and a nice shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squash-Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#4 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#45 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#47 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont House Guest House
Claremont House Guest House
#27 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fell View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fell View

Property: Fell View
Address: Cambridge House Church Street | Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Fell View Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing