We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and comfy!”
Review of Meadowbank

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadowbank
Ranked #85 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I'll review the hotel, taking into account the low cost of this B and B. The outwardly appearance is a bit run down and interior a little dated, but in all honestly that didnt bother me and it shouldn't bother anyone else, as all I was looking for was a cheap place to stay whilst out walking.

The interior is nice and cosy and the room is pretty basic but very clean. Bathroom is also very clean with towels getting replaced every two days, excellent shower. A homemade biscuit is left out for when you arrive, including kettle, tea/coffee and Lakeland water (tea, coffee, water replenished everyday). Bed is quite comfy although a little too hard for my liking, still slept well though.

The quality of the breakfast is to a high standard. Cereal is served along with full english breakfast and coffee made from coffee beans, excellent :). A homemade bread loaf is also provided every morning, which is a nice touch.

The owner seems friendly enough, quite helpful and will also help you with your luggage if you need it. Overall its a very good value B and B, with a few nice touches, just don't expect a grand hotel with all bells and whistles. If all you want is a place to stay you can't go wrong with Meadowbank.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

As other reviews have said - outside is run down, but rooms clean, comfortable and had all you needed. Homemade biscuit a nice touch.
Breakfast good in nicest room in house with sun and view.
Place just lacked warmth - never felt really like owner wanted people in his house.
Never rude though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teacher1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Situated just outside the centre of Ambleside this Hotel/Guest House is alongside the main road between Ambleside and Grasmere.car access needs a bit of care when leaving as its on a corner and traffic does move quickly there, but not a real problem.
Outside appearance is one of needing tlc but at the bargain rate its a good deal.The owner is welcoming and carried our bags upto the rooms which in our case (double) was really large as was the bathroom. Views to the rear are splendid and of course its nice and quite. The bed was comfortable and sheets were of good quality , and the electric shower was fine with plenty of water flow. All the requirement s to make a hot drink or fill your flask are in the room as was 2 home made biscuits.
Breakfast (included) saw 2 warm home baked bread rolls along with the usual selection of buffet items or you could choose all or parts of "a full English".
We did not use the lounge but observation indicated it was fully fitted out for comfort and tranquility.
Only negative was that the room temperature was too hot --better than being too cold and of course we could open the windows.
Overall a good place to stay as a central base for Lakeland excursions.

Room Tip: My Wife, dog and I were lucky to get a rear room away from traffic although I don't think that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barlicker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

On arrival you will not be impressed with this outwardly run down property which was an old vicarage in better years. Gardens were also a let down.
The welcome was however better and internally it didn't look too bad even though the furniture and fittings were tired - I suppose you could say complimentary to the property.
Our bedroom was somewhat better - at the back and had been refurbished and although small, it was clean and comfortable and OK for the two nights of our stay.
Breakfast was good, served in the bright and airy dining room.
Not a place I would return to, but taking all the pros and cons, it just about rated average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A bit hard to find: driving North from Ambleside on Rydal road go past the fire-police station, and proceed just past a small stone church-like building; notice a driveway and stone wall and keep going slowly. Now! Quickly... just past the edge of the previous property...past it's small stone garage, look for Meadowbank's driveway! Oops, if you miss it and circle back from the Southerly direction access is a bit tougher. In the Google photo the road looks more curved than it is.
You might be put off by the building exterior which is in such poor shape I would not have stopped here, but for the previously booked room and good reviews. A good power hosing, and or paint would do wonders. A dead vine growing up the side of the building makes it look a bit haunted. ... hmmm.
Never-the-less, the inside is a pleasant surprise and the host a very nice guy. Full and freshly cooked English breakfast takes place in a dining room with a pretty view to the back garden with bunnies and the owner's friendly cat. Sheep are pastured in the meadow just beyond. Our room was spacious, the furnishings a bit dated, and though there is evidence that the roof leaked at one time, there is no mustiness at all. Modern, clean bathroom. No internet although the owner said a computer was available; I found no 'mouse' however so gave up on that.
Perfect for people like us who dislike staying in a noisy town, yet the walk to a restaurant was easy.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As you enter the hallway of this detached B & B on the outskirts of Ambleside it's like stepping back in time. The grandfather clock, the feel of the place is very much old school - and charming with it. The owners are very friendly and helpful too... grabbing my heavier bags and taking them up to my single room. The bedroom was spotless... though I didn't fathom how to work the remote controls I was too sleepy from all the fresh air to care. Breakfasts were good with the nice touch of homemade bread... and a fabulous view onto the garden and fells beyond. Lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Spent three nights here with my parents, and the general consensus was that Meadowbank is very good. An old building that needs a bit of tlc on the outside belies what lies inside, very clean comfortable accommodations, extermely friendly and helpful owners. The breakfast was superb, help yourself to juices, yogurt, cereals & fruit followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice. We all had the full english every day. One point of pleasure were the small, freshly baked that morning, loaves of bread on each table, still warm from the oven, crusty on the outside and delicious inside. No complaints, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.7 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
561 reviews
2.3 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#18 of 103 in Ambleside
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbank

Address: Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £63 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowbank 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meadowbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowbank Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing