We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Robinson's Place Farm
Ranked #49 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We recently stayed at Robinson's place it is what it is an amazing original farm and Vicky was very welcoming and kind and cooked a mean breakfast which definitely sets you up for the day. After the initial shock our 17 year old son appreciated the lack of TV, mobile phone or internet reception and actually bought a magazine to read in the evening. After cold days walking a roaring fire in the lounge was a welcome sight and even though it was pitch black at night we had an enjoyable walk to the local pub. You really cannot fault the exceptionally clean accommodation we are already planning our next visit in the summer. Check out the hand knitted herdwick jumpers I had ordered one as a Christmas present for my husband. He was delighted with the end result so much so he ended up with two. Thank you Vicky for a Fab few days.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank articholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Robinson's Place Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I have been coming here for 7 years. We've separately brought the kids, and even the sister-in-law. First and foremost - for anyone coming to Langdale, whether it's for walking, cycling, birdwatching or any other outdoor theme you might mention, then consider your options in this most expensive end of the Lakes.
We've previously enjoyed the facilities at the Langdale Country Club, and the Eltermere Inn, both excellent but around 3 times as much per night as this splendidly placed farm. The latter would love to have the views afforded to Robinson's Place Farm on their list of attractions, but the title for the best situated accommodation in this area belongs here.
You'll also get free parking, free sheep, and a great breakfast included.
The Langdale Pikes, Crinkle Crags, Bowfell etc are all on your doorstep, as is the Cumbria Way Walk. A short walk along the lane will also bring you to a decent pint at the New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel, or a slightly longer walk to the over-rated Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel.
Either way - you pays your money and makes your choice. True - it's not the Ritz - remember it's a working farm. But for location and value-for-money, it can't be beaten in this valley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M0rpheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here whilst visiting the Lakes birdwatching. The building is a lovely old farmhouse and the view out of our window across the fells was incredible. The decor in the room we stayed in was a bit tired looking and could really do with updating. The great features of this lovely building were slightly lost beneath the existing decor.
Two particular things that spoiled the stay was the large ceramic light pull that was hanging a couple of feet directly above my head/face as I tried to sleep and the scary looking clown ornaments that stared straight at me from the mantlepiece whilst on the bed. They spent the night shut in the wardrobe!!
The breakfast, as other reviewers have said, was lovely but it would have been nice to have known the location of the tea/coffe facilities before we were due to leave. I'm not sure that I would return here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We rang Robinson's Place Farm for a last minute weekend away, and managed to get in just for Saturday night. We've never been before, and were not dissapointed. This is the place to get away from it all. We had noTV or mobile phone signal, and just enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this gem of a farm. You will never get a better view from your window! We walked over the fields to Wainwright's for evening meal. Excellent choice! You could walk about the same distance in the other direction to the New Dungeon Gill. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for a good day's walking. You certainly get what you pay for here. We intend to return. xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayLoversl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at 'The Robinson Place'. This must be our ninth or tenth stay and we still love the place. It is well priced, very clean and we are always made most welcome. Also, one of the best full English breakfasts you will get anywhere.
Vicky is a great hostess and never fails to make us laugh. The location is probably one of the best in The Lake District with perfect views down the Langdale valley. A very peaceful place to enjoy a cuppa and admire the views.
We'll be back for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had an enjoyable 3 nights here. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast very filling, especially the porridge that Vicky made for us. Thanks so much, Vicky. This National Trust property is a very central location to stay when walking the Cumbria Way. We spent extra time here to explore the area. For evening meals it is a 1/2 hour walk in either direction to eat at great pubs. We usually went to New Dungeon Ghyll for our meal. Definitely would stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Booked last minute and couldn't have found a more friendly place to stay, its not ensuite but this is reflected in the price, I would recommend this place to anyone. Amazing views too. Had a top stay in the beautiful langdale valley.

The lovely warm fire was an added bonus after walking up bow fell in the thick snow

Thanks Vicky :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelling09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,403 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Eltermere Inn
The Eltermere Inn
#2 of 2 in Elterwater
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elterwater Hostel
Elterwater Hostel
#1 of 1 in Elterwater
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#1 of 2 in Elterwater
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robinson's Place Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson's Place Farm

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Robinson's Place Farm Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing