We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fun”

Ambleside Climbing Wall
Ranked #11 of 48 things to do in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Indoor Climbing Venue, suitable for all ages in the heart of The Lake District. Offering Taster sessions, Private Lessons and Kids Clubs throughout the week, and open late for experienced climbers.Our parent company also offer a wide range of outdoor activities; from kayaking and rock climbing, to gorge scrambling and hiking.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent fun”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Took our 11 year old here for a holiday activity. He was in a group of 8 being given climbing tuition. He started off in the bouldering cave to get used to the climbing. The whole group then started their ascent of the wall. The tutor was very encouraging and supportive. My son had a great time. There was a great cafe upstairs with a view over the climbing wall.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    16
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent activity with 5-6 year olds!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a fantastic time with our enthusiastic instructor Adam who knew his stuff and kept us all entertained, kept the children under control and made sure the adults had a turn as well. A great activity for a slightly damp Lakes afternoon! We will definitely do it again next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Y3998HPkatiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at Ambleside Climbing Wall, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi.
Thanks for your review. Be great to have you back some time. I'll be sure to let Adam know he's doing a good job. If you enjoyed climbing be sure to search out your local wall. We have a lot of fun at our wall, but the challenges remain regardless of where or what you are climbing.
Many thanks,
matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
1 review
“Brilliant fun”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here to get out of the rain and were not disappointed. The staff members were really friendly and helpful, and no matter what experience you had they tailored the activities and tasks to fit you personally. Would definitely recommend this for a rainy afternoon, we both thoroughly enjoyed it!

Helpful?
Thank Jasmineheloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great multi age taster session”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

An enthusiastic instructor guided us through 90 mins of bouldering and climbing for a group of 7 aged from 4years to almost 40. The parents we were able to enjoy trying out a new activity at the same time as the children, with the instructor managing the children's excitement and also more quiet moments as they found their preferred level of challenge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RozHoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Why bother?”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Pretentious and massively over-priced. Very poor route setting and laughable 'training' facilities. Head to Kendal Wall if I were you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt B, Manager at Ambleside Climbing Wall, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your views are incredibly important to us, allowing us to develop the wall and move forward.
I would be interested to find out a little more about your visit, your climbing history, your expectations, and why you didn’t have a positive experience.
For a small facility in the middle of town we do our best to make the most of the space we have. Our training area consists of 2 finger boards and a small campus board. Unfortunately we do not have the space to dedicate whole rooms for state of the art gym equipment and system boards.
If you climbed unsupervised, our non-members entry fees are £8 per person for the day. Allowing climbers to come and go as they wish. We do our best to keep costs down. Not easy as we are actually located in the heart of the National Park, with all the costs that that brings. However we believe we compare favourable to other attractions in the area, and very well with other walls.
Routes are re-set regularly. This allows us to accommodate for the variety of clients we have throughout the year. If you visited recently; during the summer holidays we have many inexperienced climbers in, we therefore set more straight forward routes for them. The wall can also take a while to get used to. Our setters use the features on all the routes they set. This provides a slightly different experience than just following the bolt on holds and allows the climber to experiment with more subtle techniques.
I am very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit. I hope my response is well received. If you like to discuss things further please get in touch with me direct. I would welcome the chance to find out more.
Kind Regards
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambleside Climbing Wall also viewed

 

Been to Ambleside Climbing Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing