We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daisys Cafe

Daisys Cafe
Ranked #8 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bedlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We went in with the two kids for some lunch and the food was gorgeous. Really nice portion sizes and cold drinks which was definitely needed as it was pushing 30ºc outside.

Really friendly staff and accommodated smaller portions for the littlest one.

Artwork was lovely on the walls and overall I will definitely be popping in every time I visit the lakes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brettly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    147
    32
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly bonkers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We visited Daisy's at the insistence of my 10 year old daughter on a wet afternoon. Brilliant tea, hot chocolate, scones and cakes. The owner amused my daughter with springy cows and ducks over the counter - when you visit you will understand!!! Loved it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Binton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Certosa di Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So nice!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This cafe is so nice!
We went for lunch on a rainy day and it brightened it up!
Its walls are made of stone and painted in a gay yellow. It is dog friendly and you can find a bowl for them at the entrance.
The owner (I think he is) is a very very kind and nice person. He really takes care of the place and of his customers, you see that he loves his cafe. For example, we asked tap water and it had bubbles in it. He cared about telling us that the bubbles were caused by the pressure in the tap. He also tried to make our baby laugh with a cow puppet hung to the bar with a spring. Ahaha, very funny!!!
Food is all home made. We just had a soup and a cafe so I cannot comment a lot about food.
Anyway, you really feel at home here!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bess1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

After a walk stopped at Daisy's for a well earned brew. The drinks were excellent. Although we didn't eat the food did look very tempting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy paninis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Lovely little cafe, the paninis are so well filled, and a nice big range of fillings to choose from. Lovely service, the young gentleman who served us was very friendly and had lots of knowledge about walks in the area to share with others.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika186319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daisys Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Daisys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing