We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely homemade soup”
Review of Daisys Cafe

Daisys Cafe
Ranked #10 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
chorley lancs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely homemade soup”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Enjoyed 2 lovely lunches here Soups were gorgeous service good nice little cafe would recommend for a good wholesome lunch

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jewelsndek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    152
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best for soups.”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We discovered this cafe on our last trip to Ambleside and we knew we would want to return.
This time we went a couple of times and were delighted each time.
My wife had the crusty white roll and I had the wholemeal bread-both were good.
The service is also very good-a real awareness of what is going on and the ability to ask obvious questions. Very pleasing.We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great food, and service to match!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had breakfast here on a Monday morning, and everything was cooked to perfection. The owner was very plesant indeed and chatty and helpful. The prices are reasonable considering the quality of the food and the standard of service. If you are looking for good café food then you can do a lot worse than Daisy's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValtteriKnelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lots of choice and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Daisy's Cafe is brightly decorated and furnished with wooden chairs and tables. There is an extensive menu with lots of options for rolls, sandwiches and meals. It is all very reasonably priced and while we only had tea and scones, it was very nice. The staff were exceptionally friendly and eager to give us local advice when they saw us looking at the selection of leaflets in the cafe. Perfect for a cheap lunch or afternoon tea.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Go for Cumberland roll!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Top tip - for the extra 70p or so, go for the Cumberland roll over the sausage sandwich - far superior! We went for breakfast and were not disappointed, it was reasonably priced and the food was really nice. Only downside was first five mins or so we were on edge because of a woman and her dog, which she didn't really keep under control - other kids in there were scared by this. Staff need to get a grip of this. Also, interesting thing written on a slate: "we own our own geologist..." urging you to ask him questions. Asking questions about minerals is great, but they "own" him?!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingofgeography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daisys Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Daisys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing