We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst restaurant in Ambleside, poor food and too much noise and rowdy behaviour from the bar.”
Review of Fothergang Bistro and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fothergang Bistro and Bar
Cuisines: British
Description: Come and enjoy high quality local food, real ale, fine wines and live entertainment at The Fothergang Bar and Bistro in the heart of Ambleside. Try Lakeland classics such as Cumberland sausage, tatty pots and speciality pies alongside salads and mezze platters that feature the best local produce available. We offer a number of vegetarian and vegan options, as well as a children's menu, to ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy!Your hosts have firm roots in Lakeland farming, and they proudly support Cumbrian tradition and produce. At the bar you’ll find real ale from Winster Valley Brewery whilst the weekends boast regular live music from local performers ranging from folk to reggae.
Restaurant details
Description: Come and enjoy high quality local food, real ale, fine wines and live entertainment at The Fothergang Bar and Bistro in the heart of Ambleside. Try Lakeland classics such as Cumberland sausage, tatty pots and speciality pies alongside salads and mezze platters that feature the best local produce available. We offer a number of vegetarian and vegan options, as well as a children's menu, to ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy!Your hosts have firm roots in Lakeland farming, and they proudly support Cumbrian tradition and produce. At the bar you’ll find real ale from Winster Valley Brewery whilst the weekends boast regular live music from local performers ranging from folk to reggae.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant in Ambleside, poor food and too much noise and rowdy behaviour from the bar.”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We visited this Bistro on Sunday evening, 13th November 2011. this time 13 proved to be unlucky for us.
The good point was the waitress who served us was helpful and friendly.
The bad points, the restaurant smelled of strong disinfectant, but this could have been due to a number of reasons.
The food, however, was of very poor quality considering that the menu stated that they served 'award winning pies'.
I had the 'special' beef and kidney pie that was on offer, my wife chose the game pie.
When the meals arrived, my wife had great difficulty in finding any meat in her game pie, mine had what seemed to be a little minced beef in it and one tiny piece of kidney, both pies were tasteless.
The people at the bar were rowdy and made for a poor atmosphere, one person, with a very yappy dog, had his shoes off and stated loudly so everyone could hear ' how much his feet would smell in the morning'
The manager did not seem to bother about this behaviour, even though it made a poor dining experience even worse.
We have visited Ambleside two or three times a year for several years, but this was by far the worst dining experience we have had there.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossiUk, Owner at Fothergang Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your review however we feel some of your comments to be misleading. The Fothergang is a bar inclusive of a bistro/dining area, not a restaurant, and we are unable to censure every conversation in the public bar. Most customers enjoy the lively atmosphere and the local banter however we realise this is not to everyone’s taste if you are seeking out a quiet restaurant. The person at the bar to whom you refer on that night was a local man wearing for a joke some unusual shoes with inbuilt toes that are for sale at the Footprint Shop on Lake Road. Possibly a crime against fashion and style but we do not feel could be a genuine cause for complaint.
The award winning pies are a firm favourite because of the quality of the local meat and we have many repeat customers. The Piemill at Threkeld is renowned for producing exceptionally meaty and tasty pies and supply a number of very good Lake District food outlets. If there was any issue with the quality of the pies on this occasion we would have been more than happy to address this, given the opportunity but nothing was mentioned at the time. Some customers the previous evening stated them the best pies they'd ever tasted so we feel it really is a matter of individual taste.
After an exceptionally busy and fun Saturday night we had to scrub the floor three times that Sunday to remove spillages, hence some residual cleaning aroma at the time of your visit. This was necessary and unavoidable.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but welcome the opportunity to clarify issues where there has been some misunderstanding. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again next time you are in Ambleside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had an evening meal here and the food was really nice. Lots of local produce which was nice, the guy who served us was very friendly and especially liked the cosy fire.
The portions aren't that big though, so if you're starving it might not be ideal. Does have a nice atmosphere there so I would recommend.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaleighpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful meal”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

lovely food, lovely atmosphere, friendly service, great price, a lovely romantic night with great live music too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank elsa q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fothergang Bistro and Bar also viewed

 
Hawkshead, Ambleside
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing